We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fave place to stay in Durango” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Gilbert, United States
1 review
“Fave place to stay in Durango”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I love this hotel. Always clean, comfortable and I love the hot tub after a day of skiing! Rooms are big. And the staff is very friendly. The location is close to downtown and only a short distance from the mountain.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke A, Owner at BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Sheree,
Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at our property. We do appreciate it. Our staff takes great pride in welcoming our guests to our property and the Durango area. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the hot tub after a day of skiing. That is always the perfect end to a good day on the slopes. The dome can allow you to experience the night sky of Durango while still being inside.

We are happy to hear our location allowed you to experience both skiing and the downtown experience.

Again, we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back to Durango and our property. If we can be of any assistance please don’t hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    114
    46
    13
    12
See reviews for
98
103
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sandia Park
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Although we were here for one night and had an early start in the next day we found the room very comfortable and were able to gather a few breakfast items before retiring since we were going to be on the road before breakfast started. Thanks that was a very helpful to start the day off right!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked this hotel through Priceline at 55$ a night. It was the worst experience I had. The room was smelly and the floors extremely dirty. The bath tub was flowing and water built up while having a shower. It was difficult to sleep with the horrible smell. The wifi did not work at all and was a joke.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

awesome!!! only complaints pool was a little chilly. Although we were there in Jan. and it seemed heavy on the chlorine. Also wi-fi slow. Other than that, execellent service, very accommadating, best value in town!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Don't expect much and you won't be disappointed. 2.5 stars is kind, but I booked on Hotwire with the name blacked out, thinking I was booking a 3 star property. This is decidedly not a 3 star property! As a 2 star to 2.5 star, it is a good value. Housekeeping did well all week. "Indoor pool and hot tub" is under a dome in the parking lot - - -with no changing areas there. Good experience if you don't mind crossing the lot in the elements of December. Breakfast consists of waffle maker, cereal and very limited continental selections.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Mountain Shadows for a week in December and were very pleased. The rooms were large and clean. I did find mold on a bagel at breakfast one morning. Not a big deal, but probably something that should have been found before the guests found it. Regardless, it was removed as soon as I said something. Pool and hot tub are also very nice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We visit our family in Durango several times a year. We have found this Best Western Motel to be close to food shopping and a variety of restaurants. The Motel also provides a room refrigerator and microwave oven, which are not usually available in most other area motels. Breakfast is provided with both hot and cold items to satisfy most needs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Address: 3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#7 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Shadows Hotel Durango
Best Western Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.