We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly/helpful staff, great pool, great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“very friendly/helpful staff, great pool, great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

awesome!!! only complaints pool was a little chilly. Although we were there in Jan. and it seemed heavy on the chlorine. Also wi-fi slow. Other than that, execellent service, very accommadating, best value in town!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    100
    42
    12
    11
See reviews for
88
86
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Don't expect much and you won't be disappointed. 2.5 stars is kind, but I booked on Hotwire with the name blacked out, thinking I was booking a 3 star property. This is decidedly not a 3 star property! As a 2 star to 2.5 star, it is a good value. Housekeeping did well all week. "Indoor pool and hot tub" is under a dome in the parking lot - - -with no changing areas there. Good experience if you don't mind crossing the lot in the elements of December. Breakfast consists of waffle maker, cereal and very limited continental selections.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Mountain Shadows for a week in December and were very pleased. The rooms were large and clean. I did find mold on a bagel at breakfast one morning. Not a big deal, but probably something that should have been found before the guests found it. Regardless, it was removed as soon as I said something. Pool and hot tub are also very nice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We visit our family in Durango several times a year. We have found this Best Western Motel to be close to food shopping and a variety of restaurants. The Motel also provides a room refrigerator and microwave oven, which are not usually available in most other area motels. Breakfast is provided with both hot and cold items to satisfy most needs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed in a room that dropped down a step immediately inside the doorway. Because of this design is was easy for my tall husband (6'3") to hit his head on the top of the doorway on his way out. I'm sure this is not up to code. No one warned us during the check in process and he received a huge bump on his head and a big headache because of this. No one did anything to accommodate him when he told them about the poor design and getting hit on the head. Other than that, this is a motelly type of hotel. Very dated. Breakfast was good and the bed was very compfortable though. It is located on the far side of town quite a bit away from the downtown area on Main Street (a few miles).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is definitely, by far, the best Best Western I have stayed in. It's rooms are big, the staff is friendly, the breakfast is really good, and the pool/hottub area is awesome. However, I slept very little as the heater pipes (or some sort of pipes) were moaning and hissing all night. My husband didn't notice it, but I did. Other than that, really great stay for the $.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is the only hotel that I have ever seen such a great free food selection! The lobby (super cute by the way) was always stocked with delicious little snacks. Plus the lobby is open 24/7! They bake fresh chocolate chip cookies every afternoon!
Also the breakfast was phenomenal! Everything was very clean and there was such a broad selection of foods! Delicious!
Great staff too! Very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask about the reward program!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Address: 3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
#7 Family Hotel in Durango
#8 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Shadows Hotel Durango
Best Western Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.