We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Red Arrow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, AZ, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Western Red Arrow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was by far the best Best Western we have ever stayed at. Even had a night light on the handle of the blow dryer. Very clean and attractive. Also the cheapest motel we stayed in the whole trip. Very good valu for our money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Nita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The pool is outstanding, and I loved the flavored water and cookies in the late afternoon--yum, yum. Breakfast room was nice. The staff was very responsive. Water pressure in bathroom was excellent, and we always had hot water. The internet service needs improvement.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 566babs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Property was nicely maintained with clean rooms, good beds and I enjoyed the open courtyard parking with dome covered pool and hot tub in the center. Staff did a great job of keeping up with a very full house during the labor day biker's convention in town. Seems to be a very family oriented place. Only complaint was the WiFi just wasn't close to handling the load. I mentioned to the manager and she was already in contact with their provider. We spent 3 days here and hopefully they will get that corrected before out next visit. EVERY hotel is more expensive in Durango. This is my second hotel here and we picked it for the pool. Don't try to go cheap, you'll regret it. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDinOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Average hotel, nothing to get excited about. Great staff! Review must have 200 characters as a minimum, wonder if this is enough? Nope they want more drivel, I hate this stuff. How about now? WOW still not enough, what to say, what to say hope I can get up to the 200 count pretty soon, getting really tired, OK how now brown cow?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Well where do I start , this motel is set in such a beautiful area , the rooms are very comfortable has a tidy bathroom , there is an indoor pool , continental breakfast , the staff are very friendly, polite and helpful, overall a very handy location to area with easy access to most of the town just by walking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pete66_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We saw the good reviews here and, based upon a previous experience at a cheaper place, decided to spend some more in BW Mountain Shadows. For what we wanted and needed for this stay, which was basically a long recreational weekend, it was perfect, and the service from everybody, especially Andy, was simply outstanding. I have to say, the level of enthusiasm, competence, and knowledge of local dining, etc, was really remarkable, and we were and are truly grateful to these folks.

I would characterize our stay as "a hotel experience in a roadside motel." No, there are no inside hallways or room service, etc, but everything was clean, the room was surprisingly large (if, it must be said, dated), and best of all, it was very, very quiet, especially (but not only) considering the volume of traffic going by.

The rooms are well furnished with a 30-inch(?) TV, medium-sized refrigerator, small microwave and personal coffee makers (coffee and breakfast items are provided in the lobby every AM, a nice touch). We didn't use anything except the fridge, which was clean and in excellent condition. There is a toilet and sink with a door and a separate, largish sink/vanity area, a welcome feature. The bed was large, comfortable and seemed to be pretty new. As far as the room goes, our only complaints were that the AC was kind of noisy and not completely up to the task, and all of the wall outlets were ridiculously loose, to the point where it was hard to keep things plugged in!

There's a (free) trolley stop fifty yards from the motel, and a large grocery store and liquor store at about the same distance. ZIa Taqueria, an excellent taqueria, is maybe another hundred yards further.

We stayed for three nights at Best Western Mountain Shadows, and it was absolutely drama-free. I have had plenty of worse experiences at hotels that cost twice what we paid. There are more upscale hotels in the area, and if that's what you want, fine, but if you are like us and just want a clean, safe, friendly place to crash and regroup between activities, this is a great place to stay in Durango.

Room Tip: Go for upper floor at any motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honu-rangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My favorite thing about Mt. Shadows is that the pool is operational all year long. It's great for families and kids love it. They always know that after a long drive, day skiing or sightseeing they can "come home" to the pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#9 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
4.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Address: 3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Durango
#9 Family Hotel in Durango
#10 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Shadows Hotel Durango
Best Western Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing