We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Phoenix, United States
1 review
“Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Welcoming and very clean. Continental breakfast was the right amount. Good choices. Hotel was easy to find. Check-in was easy and hotel desk person was very friendly and welcoming. Pool and hot tub was nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    100
    44
    12
    11
See reviews for
88
89
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, AZ, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was by far the best Best Western we have ever stayed at. Even had a night light on the handle of the blow dryer. Very clean and attractive. Also the cheapest motel we stayed in the whole trip. Very good valu for our money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The pool is outstanding, and I loved the flavored water and cookies in the late afternoon--yum, yum. Breakfast room was nice. The staff was very responsive. Water pressure in bathroom was excellent, and we always had hot water. The internet service needs improvement.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Property was nicely maintained with clean rooms, good beds and I enjoyed the open courtyard parking with dome covered pool and hot tub in the center. Staff did a great job of keeping up with a very full house during the labor day biker's convention in town. Seems to be a very family oriented place. Only complaint was the WiFi just wasn't close to handling the load. I mentioned to the manager and she was already in contact with their provider. We spent 3 days here and hopefully they will get that corrected before out next visit. EVERY hotel is more expensive in Durango. This is my second hotel here and we picked it for the pool. Don't try to go cheap, you'll regret it. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Average hotel, nothing to get excited about. Great staff! Review must have 200 characters as a minimum, wonder if this is enough? Nope they want more drivel, I hate this stuff. How about now? WOW still not enough, what to say, what to say hope I can get up to the 200 count pretty soon, getting really tired, OK how now brown cow?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Well where do I start , this motel is set in such a beautiful area , the rooms are very comfortable has a tidy bathroom , there is an indoor pool , continental breakfast , the staff are very friendly, polite and helpful, overall a very handy location to area with easy access to most of the town just by walking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We saw the good reviews here and, based upon a previous experience at a cheaper place, decided to spend some more in BW Mountain Shadows. For what we wanted and needed for this stay, which was basically a long recreational weekend, it was perfect, and the service from everybody, especially Andy, was simply outstanding. I have to say, the level of enthusiasm, competence, and knowledge of local dining, etc, was really remarkable, and we were and are truly grateful to these folks.

I would characterize our stay as "a hotel experience in a roadside motel." No, there are no inside hallways or room service, etc, but everything was clean, the room was surprisingly large (if, it must be said, dated), and best of all, it was very, very quiet, especially (but not only) considering the volume of traffic going by.

The rooms are well furnished with a 30-inch(?) TV, medium-sized refrigerator, small microwave and personal coffee makers (coffee and breakfast items are provided in the lobby every AM, a nice touch). We didn't use anything except the fridge, which was clean and in excellent condition. There is a toilet and sink with a door and a separate, largish sink/vanity area, a welcome feature. The bed was large, comfortable and seemed to be pretty new. As far as the room goes, our only complaints were that the AC was kind of noisy and not completely up to the task, and all of the wall outlets were ridiculously loose, to the point where it was hard to keep things plugged in!

There's a (free) trolley stop fifty yards from the motel, and a large grocery store and liquor store at about the same distance. ZIa Taqueria, an excellent taqueria, is maybe another hundred yards further.

We stayed for three nights at Best Western Mountain Shadows, and it was absolutely drama-free. I have had plenty of worse experiences at hotels that cost twice what we paid. There are more upscale hotels in the area, and if that's what you want, fine, but if you are like us and just want a clean, safe, friendly place to crash and regroup between activities, this is a great place to stay in Durango.

Room Tip: Go for upper floor at any motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Address: 3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
#7 Family Hotel in Durango
#10 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Shadows Hotel Durango
Best Western Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.