We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice, clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was not our first choice, but the ones we wanted were all filled up. Fortunately, we got this one and it was very clean and had some nice amenities. It was cheaper than the ones we wanted to stay in, so that was a plus! Nice beds, updated shower/tub area. Showers were great! They have a microwave and a small fridge for leftovers or your trip snacks which is very convenient. The air conditioner worked good. They offer the usual continental breakfast - cereal, oatmeal, danishes, bread/bagels, and waffles. Good for a quick breakfast if you are in a hurry. They have a pool which seemed to get a lot of attention, but we didn't use it.

The staff was very nice. The location wasn't as close to the train depot as we would have liked, but in the long run, it turned out to be a good deal, because we were closer to some of the restaurants we wanted to try!

This was a nice hotel for our 2 night stay. We were not disappointed in the least!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    100
    44
    12
    11
See reviews for
88
89
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waco
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were here for 3 nights early last week. Last time we were in Durango we were at a condo in Tamarron, but decided to stay closer to town this time. The Mountain Shadows was a great place and a great value. Located on the north end of the main drag, so not as much congestion or noise. The staff was great and very helpful, especially Andy, who answered a lot of my questions about local rafting companies. On the day we left, there was one gentleman on staff who checked the status of the different highways (due to the fires) for the ways to get to Colorado Springs. Don't know his name, but he was very helpful.

The hotel itself was very nice. Very inviting rooms. Comfortable beds, flat screen TV, micro/fridge, coffee maker, and wi-fi. Also, the large bath sink was seperate from shower/toilet area. Sounds trivial, but that is a plus for a family of four. Also, I think the table had a granite top. Indoor domed pool open til 10:30 was a plus. No fitness room, but within minutes was the Durango Rec Club. Very modern facilities. Good recommendation by the hotel staff.

Breakfast was good and had everything but eggs and meat. We really enjoyed our stay here and loved visiting Durango again. We were only minutes from town and all the attractions like the Train, rafting companies, and downtown. We WILL stay here the next time we come back. I can highly recommend this hotel. (Plus, we saved over $170 over the three nights versus staying at the condo 20 minutes north of town like we did last time.) Thanks Mountain Shadows staff for making us feel at home.

Room Tip: We requested a first floor room for ease of loading and unloading and were able to get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very nice hotel and very close to Animas River and Trails. One of the few hotels that had a private indoor pool. Very pleasant staff and nice to have some snacks available all day (ccokies, yogurt, eggs, juice...). I definitely recommend this hotel. My only wish was if they could have more selection for hot breakfast in addition to waffles.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Having stayed the previous night in the worst property I ever visited, anything would work. So maybe I had low expectations but I liked the property. Two-story and on the older side, the rooms were large and clean. There was a fridge in the room. Really, everything you needed was here. The staff was great. Being with a cycling group (Ride the Rockies) they moved breakfast up to 5:30 to accommodate our riding. The pool is in a dome which keeps it mighty steamy. That was a shock initially but soon felt good.The location is just at the outskirts of town so maybe not the best but I could still manage to find restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is an older small Bestwestern with two stories and few rooms. There is an outdoor pool and jacuzzi with a big glass dome over it to keep the area sauna like. The water was comfortable and pleasant. The rooms were a bit older, but had a small refrig, microwave and TV. The beds were okay comfort-wise. We asked for the quietest room which we were told was next to the boiler room and was very dark (that was a bonus for us because we like dim light). We stayed two nights. The first night we had rowdy guests next to us and we found that the walls were paper thin- we could even hear their conversations- not cool (because if we can hear theirs , they can hear ours). The second night was quiet.

They do have a continental breakfast with plenty of yogurt, waffles, hard boiled eggs, pastries, and toast. They also have cucumber water, strawberry water, and homeade cookies after 3pm in the lobby. We didn't spend that much time in the hotel so it was okay.

If you don't mind hearing your neighbors conversation and vice-versa this might be the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Older hotel, minutes from downtown. Nice friendly, polite staff. Very nice enclosed pool/hot tub area. Nice breakfast options and dining area. Waffles, cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt offered. Free juice water, coffee all day long. Nice shower! The bed was alittle hard, but not bad; flat screen tv, free wi-fi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel doesn't look very modern from the outside as its a pull up to your room motel style place, but the rooms have been updated to give it a modern feel. New furniture and updated bathrooms make this hotel a great value in Durango. Breakfast was just ok - your standard, and we didn't have time to check out the pool. The location is great as its just a couple of miles from downtown. I'd definitely stay here again - I'm not sure there's a better deal in Durango.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Address: 3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
#7 Family Hotel in Durango
#10 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Shadows Hotel Durango
Best Western Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.