We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #10 of 30 hotels in Durango
West Bend, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel was very good. It is a little dated on the outside but our room was updated and modern and also very clean. The free breakfast was also very good. Would stay again and recommend to others. The hotel is close to lots to do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    87
    39
    12
    10
See reviews for
77
77
7
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had booked in for five nights and I was surprised to find it more like a motel than a hotel (in appearance) with the carpark right in front of the rooms, located off the main street. It certainly didn’t offer a feeling of security or safety.

On a few nights the hotel was fully booked and it was a struggle to find a park (surely they didn’t have more rooms than parking spaces??). There is a free (& frequent) shuttle trolley that goes past the hotel that will take you into the town centre – which we used quite often – there is plenty of parking in the town centre (if you know where to look) but why drive when there is a free trolley?

The rooms themselves are quite large in size, with a small ‘vanity’ room between the main room & the bathroom and offered plenty of storage space. The bed was comfortable and we had no issues sleeping at night. There was also a desk and sofa – however the desk was positioned directly in front of the AC unit (which was industrial in strength & sound!) and we had to move the table out of the way – so it didn’t obstruct the airflow.

We had work to do while we were on this trip and were constantly walking down to reception asking them to reset the wifi – as the signal would fade or just cut off (and you would have to relog on – every 40 min or so) – I understand this isn’t a business hotel – but if you’re promoting a service you should be able to provide that service to a reasonable standard.

Breakfast was possibly the biggest disappointment. Like most other BW hotels – there is a waffle maker, but bread, bagels, muffins, yogurt, some fruit, cereal, juice and hot drinks were also provided, However none of the bread, bagels or muffins were fresh, in fact they tasted a day or two old – if you weren’t going to toast them – they weren’t edible. As an alternative we had waffles for breakfast, but you can only do that so often before you get bored – we ended up eating out one morning as we just couldn’t face another breakfast.
On a couple of occasions other guests complained about the juice tasting watered down or an item running out – these should of been checked prior to the start of breakfast and monitored by the staff during the breakfast service.

The receptionists seemed a little preoccupied and spent a lot of time conversing amongst themselves rather than assisting with the guests (in the morning!). Overall these are small issues, but collectively they made a big difference to the quality of our stay; rectifying the little things would ensure they offer a better experience to hotel guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at here one night as we were traveling through Durango. It is located on the north end of town. We had a room on the second floor with a king bed. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice the room was. There was a sofa, sofa table, desk, dresser, small fridge, microwave, and single cup coffee maker. Most everything was topped with a granite top which was nice because it is so easy to clean off and looks nice. The bed was very comfortable as were the pillows.

There is a continental breakfast that is standard. Cereal, toast, bagels, waffles, yogurt, fruit, hard boiled eggs, etc. The staff at check-in and check-out were friendly and helpful.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Best Western Mountain Shadows in Durango was great! (Note: There are three Best Westerns in this town.) We were in room 221 for two nights. The room was very clean. There was a small refrigerator and even a microwave. The four pillows were soft and squashy. TV was good quality with an easy to clean remote and a comfortable couch placed in front of it as well. Awesome mesh computer chair at the desk was very comfortable, so was inclined to stay connected to the Internet a bit longer with their free wi-fi. The continental breakfast was good and the atmosphere of the eating room was warm and cozy. There were waffle-makers, with a strawberry/blueberry mix (not fresh fruit though) to put on top, or syrup; cereal; juices and water; coffee and tea; Danishes; sliced peaches (canned); fresh bananas and apples; Yoplait yogurt in peach, strawberry, or strawberry-banana; hard-boiled eggs; bagels and English muffins; Promise spread; cream cheese spread; fruit jellies; smooth peanut butter, etc. I’m sure that I’m forgetting some things. Though we did not utilize their pool, it looked very intriguing. It was enclosed in a clear but tinted Epcot-center-like structure. There was a little fountain inside as well. This location is near the edge of town, but just up the street is the Serious Texas BBQ. Go there...seriously! I'll be adding a review for them later.

There were little things that I would change. The bed was a bit firmer than I’d like, but I’ve noticed that about a lot of Best Westerns. The fan that is combined with the bathroom light was a bit on the loud side, so wouldn’t want to leave it on all night as a night light, as some folks do, nor even turn it on while your roommate is sleeping. Bring a small flashlight instead or a plug-in night light. Someone nearby left their fan on all night the first night and you could hear a bit of the hum. We laughed over the fact that the toilet paper holder is pretty far away from the toilet. It seems that it would be an easy fix, which would help guests feel even more comfortable.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Best Western Mountain Shadows and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, UT
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Not wild about motel exteriors (outdoor-facing rooms) but inside it was roomy, clean and comfortable. I liked the "clean remote" for the TV, too -- thinking of all those strangers' hands on the TV remote control always gives me pause. The breakfast was OK, but needed eggs, sausage or bacon as another hot option. I enjoyed my waffle, though.

I booked this through Hotwire for a better rate.

Room Tip: Hotel is close to a busy road, so request a room toward the middle for a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent one night at the Best Western Mountain Shadows Inn in Durango, Colorado. We had a king room which gave us plenty of space. The room was clean and quiet. The breakfast is standard for a motel breakfast. The staff was polite and helpful. The motel is located a little distance from Durango downtown so you have to drive to get to where the action is. But, this is also the reason that it's a quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VAN HORNE
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at this property after a long day of travel. When I called to make the reservation I was told there was only one room left and because my cell service was spotty the desk clerk said he would just hold it until we got there, which he did. The room was clean and despite the hotel being at capacity we found it to be relaxing and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Address: 3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Durango
#9 Family Hotel in Durango
#10 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Shadows Hotel Durango
Best Western Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.