We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21382 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301-6857   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Durango
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice & Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Like some of the other hotels we stayed in this trip, we were also lucky enough to get a jacuzzi suite. The room was large and clean with a good size bedroom area, a little kitchenette, and a decent sized bathroom. The jacuzzi was a bath tub Jacuzzi which was a pretty good size tub. There were also washers and dryers on property which we were happy to hear they had because we ran out of clean clothes and we're not looking forward to sitting in a laundry mat on our vacation. The people at the front counter were nice and helpful and gave us maps and things to do in the vicinity. The next morning as we were loading up, one of the ladies from housecleaning asked if she could help us carry things to our car, which was very sweet for her to offer. My husband would never have let a lady carry heavy suitcases down stairs, but it was sweet to offer! It was a

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate thte time and effort you took to submit a review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    113
    60
    16
    14
See reviews for
109
101
18
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Easley, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Our overnight stay here was a very pleasant experience. I had read reviews that made me concerned but was pleasantly surprised. I guess some people expect luxury for comfort prices. Our beds (two queens) were very comfortable and we both have lower back issues. The front desk could not have been more helpful nor accommodating. We ate dinner at Christine's next door and our food was excellent..well prepared and delicious. Prices were reasonable too. All in all, for a clean, comfortable and convenient place to stay while traveling in the Durango area, where prices are not cheap, I recommend this one.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for your candid review . It is discouraging to have thousands of guests each summer, comment on their wonderful stay, the great service, the hotel cleanliness and the terrific breakfast, only to have the negative and less than stellar reviews make the social media. Thank you for recognizing our staff and their hard work and terrific efforts; appreciated more than you know. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foht Wuth, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Front desk manager could really work on her people skills. She was efficient but cold. Breakfast was just adequate--not great, not bad. Very nice patio adjacent to breakfast room. Motorcyclists make a lot of noise coming in and out but that's not the hotel's fault. Front desk did respond quickly when I complained about the noisy teenagers at midnight. Room key became demagnetized within 24 hours and had to be replaced. No exhaust fan in shower, so had to open the window to vent. This would have been very uncomfortable in winter. Room was clean and comfortable. Good location - not downtown but close enough to activities. Mexican restaurant next door was pretty good, reasonably priced, and not busy. Their seafood burrito was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
It was great to have you as our guest. Thank you for your review. We appreciate your input and look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Everything was clean and fit our needs as a traveling family. It was close to Durango downtown and the Silverton/Durango train depot. The train ride was a once in a lifetime experience. If you are looking for a place to hang your hat for a couple days, this best western will fit the bill.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to do a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon! We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Too many problems with room and room assignment. Needs Lobby renovation to meet ADA requirements. Breakfast was average. Similar to a Hampton Inn, does include waffles. Major problem was the air conditioning unit that threw out sparks and smoke while we were in the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. You and I spoke upon your departure and we have received all the feedback you have shared through all the social media channels and through the Best Western review system. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Indeed, at the time of your stay, we did not have our ADA rooms available. It is a very busy time of year with high demand and reservations are often made years in advance. I realize you had requested a room close to the lobby . Since the rooms adjacent to the lobby are not the room type that you reserved, we made our second best option. The rooms, of the type you reserved, are located in an adjacent building, and when consulted as to where I would suggest your room be assigned, I pointed out that the rooms located closer to the lobby, required navigation of a steep incline that could be difficult with someone with a walker, and that a flat, although longer access, to the lobby might be more comfortable and easily assessible. I apologize for making that assumption. We are sorry your air conditioner sparked. We addressed the issue immediately as we do with any such concerns. We are sorry that happend in your room. And lastly, we recognize that our lobby is an unfriendly envirmonment for those with disabilities. As we discussed, we begin our lobby renovation mid October to make sure we can do all in our power to take care of our very important guests. We hope to see you again after that time. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Terrible experience. Room and towels felt dirty. The air conditioner was broken and the room was very overpriced. Staff offered to "knock off" $10 or $15 on a $144 room. Have no way of knowing if they actually rebabted anything because we were ignored at checkout the next morning. Do not stay here. The bed was uncomfortable too.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. I would be very interested in hearing more about your experience. I cannot imagine what happened that you felt ignored. Or that we did not properly check you out. That is so uncharacteristic of our award winning service team. If you have an additional moment, I would greatly appreciate more input. I can be reached at durangoinnandsuites@hotmail.com. In addition, am so sorry to hear that you found the bed uncomfortable. This is the second review with such mention and since the beds are new within the last year, we would be curious if you found them too hard or soft. Hoping you will share more info with me. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Beds uncomfortable and to noisy late at night, great breakfast and pool and hot tub. Nice area outside to eat breakfast, staff were nice and pleasant, though nothing special really. Pool and hot tub need to be cleaned, though they were warm and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. OH NO! Uncomfortable beds is not something we hear nor feedback we receive. I would be curious to hear more about what you did not like. We have all brand new beds within the last year and worked hard to try and select something that was not too soft and not too hard. So sorry to hear that. Sleep is an important part of your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast and the lovely area to eat. It is a great place to start the day! Sorry you found the pool and hottub substandard. The wind blows every afternoon and it can be difficult to keep up with. We will work harder at it! Thanks....Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites

Address: 21382 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301-6857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durango Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango Inn And Suites
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.