We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21382 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301-6857   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I expected better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The room was mostly fine, with comfortable beds and very quiet even though close to the highway. Very strange tub/shower and the toilet seat mounted off center. Tub floor slanted and no mat.
Pool was dirty and no towels available there. WiFi completely useless. Breakfast was average. Staff was so so in attitude.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
So sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay as we would have liked you to. We appreciate your feedback and will look into your specific comments. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sincerely hope you will give us a try again in the future. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    103
    53
    14
    12
See reviews for
99
92
16
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

While not walking distance to downtown Durango, this hotel is in a nice peaceful setting. The room was extremely comfortable and almost seemed more like an apartment than a hotel room. The lobby and breakfast area are beautiful and spacious. The rate was higher than we wanted to pay but compared well to other motels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. It sounds like you had a nice stay and enjoyed our 56 beautiful acres and serenity of the area. We are glad. Durango is indeed a resort market that thrives only a few months of the year and we take great pains in making sure we are priced according to our price value. Thank you for being a savy shopper! We hope to see you again soon and a million thanks for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

One of the best customer service experiences I have ever had. Dustin at the front desk helped me in a tight situation to have a very positive and rewarding stay at this property. This was my second stay and I will stay again. I hesitate recommending it because I had a hard enough time getting a room the night I wanted, but I waited too long not realizing how popular this place is!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
We receive so many positive comments on Dustin. We know we are so lucky to have him on board. Thank you for recognizing him. He is a gem commited to customer service that is so hard to find. We are glad you had a terrific stay. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I do not prefer Motels to stay because I find them noisy, but the price was to good to turn down for this area. The staff gives you the impression the care about your stay. My room was clean and comfy for our overnight stay and very quiet!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for your time in submitting a review. We are grateful. Indeed, our staff does care about you as our guest. We will share your feedback with them. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The people at the Best Western Durango Inn & Suites were what made our trip memorable. We had special help from Edy and Carlita, who were excellent. The woman who runs the breakfast area each morning is another fantastic person who cares about your experience and interacts in a friendly manner. The staff is first rate and the price was very reasonable. The room and bathroom clean!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Our employees work so hard. Thank you for recognizing them for their outstanding service. It means more to them than you know. We are so happy you had a terrific stay and thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review. Your comments are so helpful for us and other travelers. Much appreciated! See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

On our way from Prescott Valley, AZ to Boulder, CO we stopped overnight at this hotel, having stayed there one year ago. Again, we were treated royally - including our Airedale, Daisy. Last year, we had the now-gone Airedale, Sedona with us. We were surprised to learn that we could go around to the patio with Daisy for the continental breakfast, where Daisy met another canine, a friendly Golden Retriever.

Out thanks to best Western for being sensitive to our needs!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if accompanied by a canine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you! We are so glad you had a terrific stay....so sorry to hear about Sedona. We are thrilled you have returned to stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. We appreciate the time you spend to do a review. We are so grateful. Call us at 970-247-3251 when you are ready to book again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

First, thought we had a suite, but no. Old, old tiny stinky crowded room. Bathroom floor so rotten it sagged, gave in spookily when walked on and squeaked LOUDLY. Opening the drapes was a mistake, because it unleashed the Dust Bowl. Drapes never dusted in their lifetime forget about cleaned...and full of cigarette holes. Room was not cleaned on our first day, bed covers just thrown over rumpled sheets. A/C loud and barely functional. Tour bus parked outside the door idling its engine ALL NIGHT. When we dared to complain the management said there were complaints about out pets, which was a complete fabrication/rigmarole as the pets were with us the entire time and in years of traveling no other complaints EVER. We left the room cleaner than when we first checked in. So tired of these cheapskate old places charging more for a horrible "pet friendly room" for tons more fees, then resorting to this kind of bullstuff when legitimate complaints are made, and they know the rooms are entirely substandard and un rentable to anyone else. This room was a health hazard as the floor obviously was ready to cave and they simply did not want to do repairs.

Look, friends, just say NO PETS but don't blame pets for poor management and lack of upkeep and health standards.

And please, if you have pets, NEVER stay here they are pet unfriendly. If you don't have pets, have fun breathing diesel fumes from the tour bus which brings obviously more valuable customers.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Owner at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
WOW, as the owner and operator of the Best Western Durango Inn and Suites, no doubt, you can imagine how hurtful it is to be called mean spirited, cheapskate, a liar, and have my integrity put into question. It is difficult to not take such attack personally until I looked at your other Trip advisor contributions. I am sorry you had a miserable stay here and had I realized how horrible your felt our accommodations, at the moment you checked in, I would have been happy to assist in finding you a more suitable inn. We have a terrific staff that works very hard and take pride in their work. Super employees are hard to come by , from front desk staff,and housekeepers, to the maintenance staff and all in between. They have a long and wonderful history of outstanding service and dedication and they too, do not deserve to be attacked or berated. More love and care goes into this property that you can imagine. Best of luck to you in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites

Address: 21382 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301-6857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durango Inn And Suites
Best Western Durango Hotel Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.