We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
21382 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301-6857   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #14 of 30 hotels in Durango
Hat Choeng Mon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

When in Durango on business this is my go to motel. I like to park in front of my room which you can do at this motel. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is on par with any other like place.
It's just outside of town and easy access to downtown. There is a decent restaurant in the same parking lot which serves Mexican food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that backs up to the mountain behind the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for the great details in your review for future travelers. Indeed, the suites are the best experience and offer extra space, and terrific access. In addition, the suites also include microwave and refrigerator, where a standard room only offers a refrigerator. We are grateful that you appreciate being able to park your car adjacent to your room entrance. No doubt makes it convenient to load and unload! Thank again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    101
    52
    13
    12
See reviews for
96
90
16
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durango, CO, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I spoke with one lady on the phone and she was unwilling to help me. When I checked in the guy simply checked me in not friendly at all. When checking out the lady that checked me out acted like she was serving a prison sentence. The bed was very comfortable but there was snow and ice everywhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
We were extremely surprised to receive your customer service complaint. We are very sorry our front desk clerks were not friendly nor helpful. They are both some of our most seasoned and celebrated associates. In addition, we are known for our outstanding service and receive so many accolades, I am at a loss for what may have happened. We appreciate your time in letting us know had a challenge and extend our sincerest apologies. We will look into the situation immediately. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My visit to the area was to search for my husband who has been missing in Mesa Verde National park for several months. Under the circumstances my trip was still very pleasureable, the staff was very friendly and guenuinely concerned. They went above and beyond to make my stay as pleasant as posseble. Next time there is a search I will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Jacob, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Booked a room online for a great price!! My husband is retired military and Best Western seems to be one of the only hotel brands that gives the Government rate to retired military. Our room was a king suite which we got for a very reasonable price. The room was very nice and clean. Comfortable bed and pillows. Breakfast was very good although very crowded at the time we went down. There seemed to me to be a smell when I got near the couch, but my husband didn't seem to notice. And the furnace/air conditioning unit in the living room made a loud noise after being on a minute, but since there was also a unit in the bedroom area, we kept that one on for the night and were plenty warm. The hotel was within easy driving distance to downtown.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Your review and input are greatly appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your King Suite. The extra room is surely worth the price, no doubt! We apologize for the breakfast room being crowded. It seems like there is always about a 10-15 minute window each day where everyone is dining prior to making the train departure. Thanks for being patient! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Accommendations were excellant! Very satisfied with the staff! They were very knowledeable with the area restaurants. Friendly staff. Room was very comfortable, surprized that there was a balcony. Will use this hotel the next time i am in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks for submitting a review. We look forward to seeing you again. And THANK YOU for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Large clean room with all the usual amenities plus a refrigerator (no microwave). Nice tub as well as a shower. Comfortable beds and decent linens/towels. Better than average breakfast with cereals, breadstuffs, waffle maker, eggs and the like. Friendly, helpful staff. There's an adjacent Mexican restaurant if you don't want to drive into town for supper.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review! But more important, thank you for choosing us. We appreciate your business. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Friendly staff. Clean and comfortable beds. Good breakfast selections, pretty much standard for all motels now. Only issue we had was that we were given a handicap accessible room which made the bathroom fixtures different than standard. Higher toilet, lower sink, shower with hand held spray.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. Because we are not able to tell the name of the specific reviewer on Tripadvisor, I am not able to speak to why you might have been assigned a handicap accessible room, but are glad, otherwise, that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you so much for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites

Address: 21382 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301-6857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durango
#12 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durango Inn And Suites
Best Western Durango Hotel Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.