We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Durango BW” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21382 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301-6857   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Durango BW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Friendly staff. Clean and comfortable beds. Good breakfast selections, pretty much standard for all motels now. Only issue we had was that we were given a handicap accessible room which made the bathroom fixtures different than standard. Higher toilet, lower sink, shower with hand held spray.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. Because we are not able to tell the name of the specific reviewer on Tripadvisor, I am not able to speak to why you might have been assigned a handicap accessible room, but are glad, otherwise, that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you so much for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    112
    58
    16
    14
See reviews for
107
101
18
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Heath, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This motel was clean looking and updated and the breakfast was very good. That is all I can say after the first night there. Because this is a motel you enter from the outside the people standing in the front below smoking drifted into our room if we opened it. The bed was so noisy, probably from a plastic cover on the mattress, and it was very firm so not to my preferences. Then in the morning when we got up and opened the bathroom door we had a terrible odor of sewer gas that was horrible. We used the vent and quickly got ready and left telling the front desk who assured us they would send someone to fix it. When we arrived back it smelled fresh so we stayed our scheduled second night only to be blasted with the foul smell again in the morning. At check out when we told them about it again the front desk attendant said that it must be a city problem and they were sorry. So no it was only in the bathroom an obvious leak in there not outside the room. So if you dare to stay don't take room 212. We will not return as we saw many newer hotels in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Gosh, we are so sorry to hear of your challenges during your stay with us. We apologize that other guests were congregating outside their rooms. It is a time of year that we welcome our hunter friends and often, so they can enjoy their smoking, they do pull chairs outside, tell hunting stories, and enjoy their "mancation!" We apologize this made any portion of your stay uncomfortable. We can see where this might be disruptive. In addition, we are sorry about the foul smell. Indeed, as someone sensitive to smells, this would turn me off as well. We have corrected the issue and regret we were not able to get that complete before your departure. Our sincerest apologies. Please do come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Traveling with a dog, you don't often find as warm a welcome as at the Best Western Inn and Suites in Durango. The suite was comfortable for us and for our dog, with a back door that led directly out to the pet walking area. There is a small charge associated with the pet, but not too bad. The lobby of this hotel and the rooms in general could use a little sprucing up, but the bed was comfy and the bath products were nice. The only downside is the distance to downtown Durango. While it's only a mile, and not that far, the sidewalk doesn't go all the way into town and it's a $9 cab ride for a short distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. Indeed, we agree, we need to spruce up the lobby! We have plans in development at this time and look forward to showing you what we have done should you visit us sometime next year! Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review. We appreciate knowing when we have done something well. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were in Durango visiting friends and spent a few nights at the Best Western. The hotel was perfect for our stay. To me the three most important factors for any hotel are cleanliness, comfortable beds and friendly knowledgeable staff. This Best Western was very reasonably priced and far exceeded my expectation. I highly recommend. All staff member from the front desk, to housekeeping to the hotel managers were friendly and very knowledge about the area and really took the time to discuss options with the hotel guests. Thanks for the dinner suggestion, Edy. The room was super clean every day and the beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. We had the queen suite which I highly recommend for a family. Our daughter had her own room and we had a balcony off the other bedroom which was perfect on a sunny fall afternoon. We really enjoyed the breakfast as they had a large selection of items to choose from, but our favorite was the make your own waffles. Durango is not a large town so this hotel was convenient to everything and was very easy to access. I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend to anyone visiting Durango.

Room Tip: Upstairs suite with read facing balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. As owners and managers, we recognize we are not the newest game in town, but strive for precisely what you mentioned, clean; friendly and knowledgeable staff. We know it takes time and effort to submit reviews and we thank you for both. We look forward to seeing you again soon in Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place was 1) close to the Train Depot 2) Clean, clean, clean 3) Super family friendly 4) super professional 4) yummy breakfast with lots of options 5) 4 ft. deep 12 person hot tub, clean and in working order 6) comfy firm beds, no backache! We had sooo much fun. And, the price was just perfect. I highly recommend this hotel if you are in the Durango area. I have spent many days there and I know the area well! Thank you to the BW staff.

Room Tip: The King Family Suite has 2 king beds in different rooms, and 2 fulls fold out couches. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We are so appreciative of your detailed review. We take our guest comments very seriously. In addition, the staff really appreciates when someone recognizes their efforts in customer service, friendliness and especially the housekeepers, who love to know that guests recognize their hard work in providing a clean room. Thank you and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in October and there were black bugs in the room! They got on the bed while we were sleeping! The towels are old and frayed. There is no elevator and you have to climb many steps with your luggage. I would NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your time and effort is submitting your valuable review. We regret you did not enjoy your stay. Indeed, the Box Elder is an epidemic in Durango, and this flying insect is bothersome this time of year for everyone. With outdoor entrances, we do what is humanly possible to defer these flying insects and regret they cause our guests pause. We certainly wish there was more we could do to control this issues without presenting possible human risk at the same time. As you are aware, we do have two floors which requires navigating one flight of stairs to access a second floor room. We were hopeful that the assistance we gave you with your luggage, as we do with all our guests, would prove helpful to the inconvenience of having to navigate the flight of stairs. Your comfort is very important to us. We will certainly look into and address your concerns over the towels. We try to pay close attention to when these items need retired or replaced. We are very sorry if we missed this detail. We hope you will continue to support Best Western throughout your journeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at the Best Western Durango Inn and suites.

The check in was quick and friendly, and the room was clean comfortable.

This is an older type property and as you would expect it could do with some refurbishment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Your input is very valuable not only for us but for our guests as well. We are thrilled you had a pleasant stay. We do try and keep ahead of the curve in terms of refurbishment and work year round to keep things modern and fresh including new bed packages, chairs, lighting, granite counter tops, flat screen televisions, new carpet and draperies. We hope you will continue to choose the Best Western Durango Inn and Suites for all your future travels to Durango as we appreciate your business so very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites

Address: 21382 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301-6857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Best Western, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durango Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango Inn And Suites
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.