We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21382 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301-6857   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

for the most part it was quiet here as we stayed two nights. The Motorcycles next door made some noise but it stopped by bedtime. I like the no smoking room it was comfortable after a long day out sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Your input is so greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    103
    53
    14
    12
See reviews for
99
92
16
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our Favorite motel in Durango. Staff is friendly. Motel is clean. Beds are comfortable. Atmosphere is quiet and restful. Would recommend this to anyone and will stay here again. Breakfast good and checkin and checkout easy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Your input and notes are greatly appreciated. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed. Edy at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. She gave us information of the surrounding attractions to better enjoy our stay there. The room was always clean, breakfast good, and location to town very convenient. If we travel to Durango again, this will be where we will stay. It is true that the air conditioner is on the wall next to the vanity. Seems to be an odd place. But nevertheless the room was quite comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Edy is one of our most celebrated associates and we will share your comments with her. She works hard and takes her job very seriously. We thank you for recognizing her. We appreciate your input regarding the air conditioner. Indeed, the placement could be better but the units still cool the guest rooms to a comfortable temp. In addition, we have over 12 rooms types available should that be a concern, with 11 of those having different locations! Thanks for point that out. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were here for 3 nights with our small dog. We were cramped in our room - the bathroom sink and "closet" were through a small door-type opening. The problem was that the air conditioner was on the wall there. Standing at the sink was a freezing experience, but the air did not actually make it full force into the bedroom area. Maybe this is not usually a problem in Colorado, but the weather was a bit warm, and the A/C was needed! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and breakfast was good. Durango was a super neat town. We were there specifically to ride the Durango-Silverton railroad, and that was worth the trip. There is a nearby kennel to board your pet for the day long train ride.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your valuable input. We appreciate your comments and the time and effort it takes to submit reviews. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beebe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Excellent location. Staff very courteous and helpful. The view from this location is very attractive. Though close to highway we experience no highway noise. It was a quiet and a feeling of seclusion area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We were thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. We share feedback with all our staff and appreciate your time and efforts in submitting a review. See you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was a nice hotel only a mile from town. It was a little high in price. We stayed in the suite and it was great. It had a front and a back door which was nice. If you like to walk, it has sidewalks all the way to town. The staff was very friendly. I loved the town and all the shops. We ate at the Palace Restaurant. It was very pricey and not very good. Don't recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon. The winter is equally as terrific as the summer for a trip to Durango! Come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent two nights at the Best Western Durango Inn & Suites and things did not get off to a good start. As we are a family of six, we thought we had found a great solution, with a 2 bedroom suite that had a king bed and 2 queen beds. Upon arrival however, we discovered that the particular suite style had a very odd setup: with a separate room with a door for the 2 beds, the king bed in a corner with a weird mirror and bath counter setup in a room with no doors and a cramped living space area. The suite design was awful. Not exactly the picture we saw from the website. But for two nights, that was livable. However, the bathroom had an awful mildew/urine/sewer smell that required each room in the suite to have an air freshener running. We were not happy.

When we requested another suite, it took nearly 40 minutes to get moved to another suite. Instead of just accommodating us, they insisted on arguing with us and wanting to inspect it themselves. They had a larger suite with two kings available, but did not want to give it to us, as it was more expensive. Instead, after finally inspecting the room, they offered a two queen suite (that was like the picture on the site). We lost a real bed, but at least the sofa bed fit two kids. And oddly, no smell or air fresheners running in this room. It was much better.

Breakfast in the morning was a pleasant surprise. One of the better ones we experienced on our trip. They had a good variety and it was kept very clean, with lots of seating inside and out. It worked out well with our kids. It made for an enjoyable start to our day.

But despite a pleasant breakfast experience, the emphasis on making the customer happy was lacking. And at a Best Western, to some degree, that is to be expected. But it was still disappointing. After driving for several hours, the last thing we want to do is sit around and wait for someone to come "inspect the smell." Next time we come back to Durango, we will definitely choose one of the other hotels nearby.

Room Tip: Don't choose the 2 BR suite with 1 King and 2 queens. You won't be happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Owner at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Your excellent input is greatly appreciated. We regret you were mislead regarding the "Family Suite." It is one of our most popular suites among our returning family guests but can certainly understand your disappointment. Where the suite has a separate bedroom, with two queen beds, and 1 queen bed, in a semi-private room, it is surely not for everyone. and we would agree, has an unusual layout. It is located in an awkward area, and really does not receive much natural light. We will work harder to be sure our future guests understanding of the accommodations are clear. Indeed, what is most concerning is the customer service aspect of your experience. We are known for our outstanding customer service and we fell short in this instance. I was aware that there was a struggle trying to find alternate accommodations for you given the high season and lack of available inventory, however I was not aware how poorly it was handled. Our apologies. This is not our usual operation or service standard. We hope you will reconsider staying with us again and look forward to the opportunity to be of service. Again, our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites

Address: 21382 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301-6857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durango Inn And Suites
Best Western Durango Hotel Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.