We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, nicely remodeled rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21382 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301-6857   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very clean, nicely remodeled rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here for one night on our way home from the Grand Canyon. Even though the place was probably built many years ago, the rooms are completely remodeled and very clean. Comfortable beds, quiet room. We liked that we could have our small dog along for only a $15 fee. Good dinner next door at Christina's.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. As always, we appreciate feedback and the extra details that help other guests make a choice while researching lodging in Durango. Our staff enjoys input showing that guests recognize their hard work and effort. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    113
    60
    16
    14
See reviews for
109
101
18
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I've stayed here on both business and personal trips and with each visit I just feel more and more at home. The Breakfast is top notch, rooms are comfortable and the management folks are great. For those traveling to southwest Colorado, I would suggest you consider Durango Inn & Suites first and compare it to other hotel locations and values and you'll find that this is probably going to be your best option.


  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are thrilled that you feel at home at the Best Western Durango Inn and Suites. This is our goal. Thank you for the review recognizing the terrific breakfast, our outstanding staff and and great value. Indeed, what we hope to provide is clean room, excellent service, a great breakfast at a reasonable price. We hope to see you again soon and look forward to being of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
391 reviews 391 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Best western is usually a good bet for a decant room and a good nights rest. This best Western is no different. a good clean comfortable stay and nice hospitality. The breakfast is sufficient for a morning start and the location is a bit off the beaten track but well situated.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Our staff prides themselves on providing clean and comfortable accommodations while striving for excellent service. They, so much appreciate knowing when guests recognize their efforts. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you need to stay at a comfortable, reasonably priced hotel in Durango this is a great spot to stop. A good breakfast buffet, friendly staff and Best Western points too. Lots to do in Durango, make this hotel your home base.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We recoginze that it takes time and effort to submit a review. Thank you for both. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you on your next trip to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband, myself, and our pup took a road trip to Durango at the beginning of the year. We came into Durango around midnight, exhausted from driving and pulled into the parking lot with the intention to stay one night and move on to a hotel closer to the downtown area in the morning. Insead, we wound up staying 4 nights because we enjoyed it so much! Words can not describe how attentive and courteous the staff were to our needs. We were always greeted personally by all staff members. They remembered small details about us, such as where we are from and our plans for the trip. One of them was even kind enough to prep the outdoor hot tub for us when we decided to brave the snow and enjoy the scenery one evening! The breakfast selection in the morning was phenomenal! We had not encountered such large variety and well stocked selections even in the larger hotels we stayed in along our trip. The atmosphere was like that of being in a cafe, as the staff was constantly restocking the items, cleaning the area, and interacting with guests. The room was clean and cozy. The bed was comfortable, the shower was hot, and the A/C unit adapted well to our varying decisions on room temperature. Out back was a large area at the base of a mountain where we spent several hours sledding, and our dog had plenty of room to run and play. (Also would be an awesome winter playground for children!) We are not ones to ever write reviews, but we both wanted to make sure that we gave this Best Western 2 thumbs up! If our adventuring brings us back to Durango, you can guarantee we will stay here again!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your valued feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We will be sure to pass on to our associates, your input regarding their service. It is greatly appreciated. We hope that on your next trip west, you will choose to stay with us again. We recognize that it takes time and effort to submit reviews and we thank you for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed at this Best Western over New Year's eve. Thoroughly enjoyed the town of Durango, but I overall do not recommend this hotel.
Initially, based on a map search, I thought it would be a feasible walking distance to downtown; however the highway shoulder is not a safe walking route. Additionally, I had hoped the Best Western name would mean a no-frills decent, quiet place to sleep. This hotel lived up to its name in the cleanliness of the room, however it was a not a quiet place to sleep. The layout is such that every room faces the parking lot and the highway. Any activity outside your door is heard loud and clear, and if you are so unfortunate to have noisy neighbors who think 3 a.m. is a good bedtime, you are out of luck.
Overall, it's not that this is a terrible hotel - it is a clean place to sleep in Durango. However, given the layout of the hotel and the gamble that you will have respectful neighbors, you may not get a good night's sleep. Additionally, given that there are a plethora of other choices close to downtown offering perks such as a historic experience, luxurious accommodations, or competitive pricing, this is not your best option for experiencing the town of Durango.

Room Tip: Second floor on far end of building (to minimize exposure to foot traffic outside your door).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Our sincerest thanks for your review. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and work hard to maintain these high standards. You make some excellent points for other travelers to consider when booking lodging in Durango. Indeed, we are located about 3/4 mile west of the historic downtown area. Althought it is not really feasible to walk to downtown, we are still close. This proximity allows us to offer a more competative rate if you are not opposed to driving to downtown thereby saving some money. In addition, we highly recommend considering a suite, which has the bedroom located in the back. As an exterior corridor Inn, often, guests appreciate the easy with which they can unload the car by pulling up right in front of their rooms in exchange for being adjacent to the highway. We regret that you did not get a good nights sleep on New Years. Please know that the majority of the rest of the year, we have very respectful and rested guests! Thanks for the terrific input and your helpful comments for others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel. I was in Durango a fishing trip and wanted a location that was close to town and some of the great fishing in the area. This was an excellent choice. This is a small, family owned and operated hotel and you can't beat the personal touch this provides. The room was spacious and comfortable. I especially enjoyed having breakfast on the deck with its great views.

Room Tip: Hotel is only about a mile from downtown and 3/4 of a mile from the Durango river. There are fabulo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We greatly appreciate your feedback and detailed review. Your feedback is so important. We recognize the time and effort it takes to submit a review and sincerely thank you. We look forward to being of service to you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites

Address: 21382 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301-6857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durango Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango Inn And Suites
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.