We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good night stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
21382 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301-6857   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #14 of 30 hotels in Durango
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
353 reviews 353 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“good night stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Best western is usually a good bet for a decant room and a good nights rest. This best Western is no different. a good clean comfortable stay and nice hospitality. The breakfast is sufficient for a morning start and the location is a bit off the beaten track but well situated.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Our staff prides themselves on providing clean and comfortable accommodations while striving for excellent service. They, so much appreciate knowing when guests recognize their efforts. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    96
    48
    9
    11
See reviews for
86
83
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you need to stay at a comfortable, reasonably priced hotel in Durango this is a great spot to stop. A good breakfast buffet, friendly staff and Best Western points too. Lots to do in Durango, make this hotel your home base.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We recoginze that it takes time and effort to submit a review. Thank you for both. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you on your next trip to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband, myself, and our pup took a road trip to Durango at the beginning of the year. We came into Durango around midnight, exhausted from driving and pulled into the parking lot with the intention to stay one night and move on to a hotel closer to the downtown area in the morning. Insead, we wound up staying 4 nights because we enjoyed it so much! Words can not describe how attentive and courteous the staff were to our needs. We were always greeted personally by all staff members. They remembered small details about us, such as where we are from and our plans for the trip. One of them was even kind enough to prep the outdoor hot tub for us when we decided to brave the snow and enjoy the scenery one evening! The breakfast selection in the morning was phenomenal! We had not encountered such large variety and well stocked selections even in the larger hotels we stayed in along our trip. The atmosphere was like that of being in a cafe, as the staff was constantly restocking the items, cleaning the area, and interacting with guests. The room was clean and cozy. The bed was comfortable, the shower was hot, and the A/C unit adapted well to our varying decisions on room temperature. Out back was a large area at the base of a mountain where we spent several hours sledding, and our dog had plenty of room to run and play. (Also would be an awesome winter playground for children!) We are not ones to ever write reviews, but we both wanted to make sure that we gave this Best Western 2 thumbs up! If our adventuring brings us back to Durango, you can guarantee we will stay here again!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your valued feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We will be sure to pass on to our associates, your input regarding their service. It is greatly appreciated. We hope that on your next trip west, you will choose to stay with us again. We recognize that it takes time and effort to submit reviews and we thank you for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed at this Best Western over New Year's eve. Thoroughly enjoyed the town of Durango, but I overall do not recommend this hotel.
Initially, based on a map search, I thought it would be a feasible walking distance to downtown; however the highway shoulder is not a safe walking route. Additionally, I had hoped the Best Western name would mean a no-frills decent, quiet place to sleep. This hotel lived up to its name in the cleanliness of the room, however it was a not a quiet place to sleep. The layout is such that every room faces the parking lot and the highway. Any activity outside your door is heard loud and clear, and if you are so unfortunate to have noisy neighbors who think 3 a.m. is a good bedtime, you are out of luck.
Overall, it's not that this is a terrible hotel - it is a clean place to sleep in Durango. However, given the layout of the hotel and the gamble that you will have respectful neighbors, you may not get a good night's sleep. Additionally, given that there are a plethora of other choices close to downtown offering perks such as a historic experience, luxurious accommodations, or competitive pricing, this is not your best option for experiencing the town of Durango.

Room Tip: Second floor on far end of building (to minimize exposure to foot traffic outside your door).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Our sincerest thanks for your review. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and work hard to maintain these high standards. You make some excellent points for other travelers to consider when booking lodging in Durango. Indeed, we are located about 3/4 mile west of the historic downtown area. Althought it is not really feasible to walk to downtown, we are still close. This proximity allows us to offer a more competative rate if you are not opposed to driving to downtown thereby saving some money. In addition, we highly recommend considering a suite, which has the bedroom located in the back. As an exterior corridor Inn, often, guests appreciate the easy with which they can unload the car by pulling up right in front of their rooms in exchange for being adjacent to the highway. We regret that you did not get a good nights sleep on New Years. Please know that the majority of the rest of the year, we have very respectful and rested guests! Thanks for the terrific input and your helpful comments for others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel. I was in Durango a fishing trip and wanted a location that was close to town and some of the great fishing in the area. This was an excellent choice. This is a small, family owned and operated hotel and you can't beat the personal touch this provides. The room was spacious and comfortable. I especially enjoyed having breakfast on the deck with its great views.

Room Tip: Hotel is only about a mile from downtown and 3/4 of a mile from the Durango river. There are fabulo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We greatly appreciate your feedback and detailed review. Your feedback is so important. We recognize the time and effort it takes to submit a review and sincerely thank you. We look forward to being of service to you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We made a last minute reservation and were pleased with everything from the front desk staff to the breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable. Convenient to the downtown area. We would recommend to others staying in Durango.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Two night stay in a two room suite, very clean and good value. The only drawback was the aircon which kept cutting out, as is quite common with a lot of newer state of the art, irritating digital wonder machinery. I like the older models which give you frostbite. Didn't complain to the front desk as we assumed every room would be the same. Edy on the front desk was very helpful and informative and recommended the May Palace for good Chinese food. Edy's great grandfather originally came from Bodmin in Cornwall, 40 miles from where we live. The breakfast was fine and nothing ran out. The motel breakfasts probably save $20 for two people and usually set you up for the day. The motel is only a short drive from Mesa Verde and handy for the train as well. Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Our sincerest thanks for your input and review. We apologize and regret, that you are absolutely correct regarding the air conditioner. They are designed to cycle off when the sensors determine that the unit may accumulate ice on the coil or in essence, "freeze up". It will only continue to chill the room to an internal preset tempurature and additionally will not initiate the compressor if it determines the outside temperature is 45 degrees or below. We recognize that some guests like it colder than 60 degrees but have been unsuccessful in finding a PTAC unit ( a new one!) that will accomplish this, based on the design. We are grateful, however, even in the middle of summer, for those chilly nights! Please know that our assiciates appreciate being recognized and that we reward their service efforts. Thank you for recognizing their dedication. Thank you and see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites

Address: 21382 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301-6857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durango
#11 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durango Inn And Suites
Best Western Durango Hotel Durango
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.