We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21382 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301-6857   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Tulsa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on September 22nd & 23rd. We made the reservation because they allow dogs, but took our family member to Happy Hounds and Fat Cats for both nights. She was going there for one night, anyway, because we were going on the train on the 23rd. (She had a great time there!) The staff gave her a doggie biscuit & were very accomodating, even though she didn't stay. We enjoyed the room...no problems. We also enjoyed Christina's Grill which is right on the property. A super place for dinner!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay with us. In addition, thank you for submitting your input and comments. Reviews are so helpful for all and we appreciate your time and effort. We look forward to being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    113
    59
    17
    14
See reviews for
110
101
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I just returned from a 5 day trip to Durango and my worst Best Western experience ever. At first glance the hotel looked good: nicely located at the foot of the mountain, outwardly no problems, the rooms nice and comfy, just as you expect it. However, during the night you notice that you are not alone in the room. An army of ugly bugs is crawling over your bed, up on the walls and ceiling, the TV screen, where ever they love to go. The first time I complained to the manager, the answer was: oh we sprayed just last week. She promised the problem would be gone. When we returned to our room at first glance the bugs were gone, but they must have been hiding, because at night they all were back, probably crawling in under the door. Upon my next complaint the answer by the "front desk manager" (the other one was not to be found) was nasty: "So what should we do? We have had these bugs for years, we cannot do anything about that. Don't you have bugs in your country?" (Btw, I am American, so I don't know what she meant with that.) May be it figures that the bathroom was not cleaned well, either. My advice: Stay far far away from that place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your input but most importantly apologize for our staff response to your complaints and concerns and are most disturbed that it was not handled appropriately. We will immediately address those involved to insure better training and responses. Indeed, every 4 to 5 years the weather conditions, (dry and hot) lend itself to a large box elder bug population which presents a challenge for us in how to mitigate. As you mentioned we are at the foot of the mountain, which is home to many box elder trees. As an exterior corridor property, especially when guests leave their doors open for extended periods of time, these flying bugs are seeking warmth as the weather changes. Short of reducing our tree population, we employ every extermination method for these harmless but annoying flying nuisances. Again, we regret we did not provide our usual outstanding customer service skills to address your concerns but sincerely hope you will choose too join us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The BW Durango Inn & Suites is located on the main highway a couple of minutes before the town center when coming from the West (Cortez) in a very quiet setting, surrounded by pine trees. It is a classical two-storey motel where you park your car in front of the room doors.

The check-in staff was very friendly and helpful. We were given a room on the first floor. The room was pretty standard as far as Best Western hotels are concerned and was a little smaller than average. Nevertheless, it was perfectly fine for our party of four. Beds were comfortable and the bathroom had all amenities you usually receive at Best Western hotels.

In the morning, we took advantage of the complimentary breakfast which was served in the breakfast room next to the lobby. Some of the table were located on the porch outside, so that guests could enjoy their breakfast outside. The breakfast selection was very good and it was better than the usual complimentary breakfasts at BW hotels.

All in all, we had a very good experience at this property and would suggest it to anybody visiting Durango. Just keep in mind that it's not located downtown and you need to drive a couple of minutes to get there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
It is with sincerity that we thank you for your response and appreciate the effort in providing a detailed review or our property. We are appreciate knowing that our efforts have provided a nice stay for you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We arrived in Durango about 10ish in the morning and the Best Western Durango Inn is one of the first motels as you arrive in the City,we were welcomed and invited to check into a room straight away and we were not disapointed with our choice. A spacious room the beds very comfortable beds,clean and fresh.The pool and area was very clean and the pool was a delight. The one thing left that might have let them down would have been the breakfast! not so,the breakfast choice was superb as were the staff laying it on,nothing was to much trouble.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 211 a large room with the bedroom area at the back and a small veranda off the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toriGolden, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share your experience and provide a review. We are glad you enjoyed your suite. They are only priced slighly higher than a standard room and it is nice to have all the extra room and views. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We recently stayed here on a return visit to the Durango area. We have been visitng this area for 30 plus years but this is the first time we have stayed in town. The staff was most helpful with all our requests and the room was cleaned promptly in the morning. Although the rooms were all sold out for two nights, we found the room quiet with no noise from the bar, pool or highway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toriGolden, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We realize that it takes time and effort to submit a review and we greatly appreciate your input and comments. We look forward to being of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRESCOTT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed for four days and it was fine, nothing fancy. We did the hot tub a couple times (one time we had to pull the cover off and skim the debris out of it before we got in). We did avoid the pool, as it was somewhat murky and looked dirty in the corners - this could definitely use a good cleaning! Breakfast was fine, and Deb kept things clean and food items stocked, and was nice to talk to. Again, nothing fancy here, though you could make your own waffle.
The rooms were cleaned very thoroughly by the housekeepers, our room was exceptionally clean after every visit. The room furnishings were a bit outdated, but were comfortable.
We had internet service without any problems, and it's nice that there's no extra charge for it.
We had a nice little balcony off our room, nice to sit out and enjoy the grass and hillside (and a couple deer) in the evening.
This BW is off the beaten path as far as downtown goes - it's walkable, but it's along a highway, and I think you're better off driving into the downtown area.
All-in-all, was a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toriGolden, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We sincerely appreciate your input and taking the time to submit a review. Sounds like we could have done a better job of keeping the pool and hot tub skimmed. We will work on this. It does become difficult with the ever evolving changes in the weather to keep the leaves and grass from nearby areas out, but we will certainly work harder at it as, especially the pool area, is a terrific place to relax and have fun! Thanks for the input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Pleasant accomodating staff and clean room. Good beds and linnens. Towels as well. Although it is right by the hiway I found the room to be quiet with the window closed. The A/c worked well and was quiet. There is a restaurant and bar at the Hotel and has a bar section for drinks. I did not eat there but looked at the menu over a beer. Prices reasonable for the area. I chose to go in to town to eat and see the sights. The only drawback at the hotel was the internet. It was slow at 3 PM and impossible after dinner till I gave up at 1130. The staff said it was a leased system over whichthey had no control.. \oh well!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit your input. We regret to hear that you experienced issues with our WIFI. Indeed it is a constant challenge, despite a remarkeable investment on our part, to provide outstanding WIFI service. We continue to make improvements, troubleshoot, research, and coordinate, in an effort to provide this very important service. We apprecitate your comments and hope you will join us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites

Address: 21382 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301-6857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durango Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango Inn And Suites
Durango Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.