We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended By A Local” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mutu's Italian Kitchen

Mutu's Italian Kitchen
701 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5403
970-375-2701
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 150 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
tucson, az
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended By A Local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

On the recommendation of a chef friend who lives in town, we went to dinner on our most recent visit at Mutu’s Italian Kitchen, WOW!
My DH is American-Italian from the East Coast and is VERY picky about his Italian food. That’s the reason the our friends steered us this way. Great Meal!
We started with the Antipasti that we shared, consisting of usual suspects, a basket of nice bread and of course a glass of wine.
Main course:
Chicken Parmigiana and Beef Medallions Portobello, fantastico!
But wait, you have to have a sweet:
Pistachio and Chocolate Cannoli ... loved the plating with the Crème Anglaise and Raspberry Coulis, outstanding!
(check out thier menu online, nice choices for dinner)
Cute place, great staff and yeah the prices for dinner are more than you'd pay in a Non-Tourist town, but look at where you are?
We really enjoyed our dining experience, this is why she sent us here, we’ll be back again on our next visit, for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    66
    23
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We ate on the patio here one night and it was very nice. They do get busy so if you can go early it would help. Prices are a bit high but you are in a tourist mecca. My husband had eggplant parm and said it was some of the best he ever ate. If you like Italian yu will like this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is the third or fourth time we have selected Mutu's for dining. First, I must note the price range Tripadvisor has for this restaurant is a bit low. Pasta prices range from $10.95- $13.95. Seafood ranges from $17.95 - $21.95. Meats range from $17.95 - $27.95.

We made reservations for 6 people. We were seated promptly on a Monday evening with not really many customers yet. After waiting a full 15 minutes for any server to come by at all, I got up and asked the hostess if we were being overlooked. Sure enough, the waitress did not know our table was her assignation. Our spot was fairly close to another room of people as well as the kitchen, pretty much in the middle of a large room and it was very loud. Definitely not a cozy atmosphere but I guess they feel parties of 6 don't care about cozy. We were served well enough with apologies from the hostess and some vague promise of making up for being overlooked by receiving desserts on the house. We had the waitress split our checks into two groups of three. When we finished our meal, the dessert menu was brought, but nothing was said about cost so we declined dessert. The final bill included a 20% tip already added on which we felt was excessive and unnecessary.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Recommended by hotel receptionist, it was a good choice. The food was excellent but service a little slow. That was not down to the friendly waitress, just too many customers and too few staff. Portion size is very good and overall, one of the few good places in town

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great food and reasonably priced. It was a beautiful evening and we ate on the patio. Service was excellent and it made a very pleasant evening.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mutu's Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mutu's Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mutu's Italian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.