We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mutu's Italian Kitchen

Mutu's Italian Kitchen
701 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5403
970-375-2701
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 160 Restaurants in Durango
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Recommended by hotel receptionist, it was a good choice. The food was excellent but service a little slow. That was not down to the friendly waitress, just too many customers and too few staff. Portion size is very good and overall, one of the few good places in town

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    59
    23
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great food and reasonably priced. It was a beautiful evening and we ate on the patio. Service was excellent and it made a very pleasant evening.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Not on the main street, but worth the journey.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Found this one whilst wandering round Durango looking at the architecture. A warm welcome. Seated quickly and restaurant choices explained clearly. Good choice of food. Salads fresh and with a good choice of dressings. Main courses delicious and obviously freshly cooked. This was our last night in Durango, otherwise we would have come here again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, NV
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“So So Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Six of us had dinner at Mutu's last Friday evening... this restaurant had been referred to us by our hotel. We were all looking forward to a great Italian feast after a long ride that day. We had a reservation for 7:30 and we arrived on time and were seated promptly. The restaurant has a lovely air to it and the staff is friendly.

Then we ordered... everyone wanted the Calamari for an appetizer... when it arrived it looked pasty and then tasted undercooked. We all sent it back to have them finish cooking it... when it was returned to us... it looked better... but still tasted like flower without much flavoring. And it went downhill from there. We all felt the food was bland and agreed we would not eat there again... hope they read this and work on their food flavor since the staff, ambiance and service were very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“worst dinner we've ever had”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

this was the worst dinner my husband & I have ever had. We told the owner about the awful food just to let her know that the dinners wee unacceptable & she was soooo defensive. . .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mutu's Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mutu's Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mutu's Italian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.