We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Pasta, Good Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mutu's Italian Kitchen

Mutu's Italian Kitchen
701 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5403
970-375-2701
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 177 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fresh Pasta, Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I had the bruchetta which was just okay, but the main course came and more than made up for it. Perfectly cooked spaghetti with eggplant parmesean. New York strip and lasagne were ordered by the two I were with. Steak was good and lasagne with sausage was reported as excellent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Stillwater, MN
Level Contributor
189 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Another gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stopped in after reading the menu and capturing a table on the plaza, and we were not disappointed. I had the beef medallions portabello which had a combination of perfectly cooked meat in a red wine sauce along with slices of portebello and my wife had the chicken marsala. We were both very pleased with the quality of the entrees. I'm also surprised that this restaurant is not rated higher. It should be in the top 10 in the area at least.
It's a block off the main street so it doesn't get as crowded as some of the other ones, which is what we like. Not as much waiting and the bar area is a great place to wait for a table.
We highly recommend it for one of the local dining choices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaleStillwater_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Italian Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The best lasagna we've ever had! Ate at the bar and had great service and everyone was friendly!! Nice inside and outside eating areas.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank VickieRiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Pricey but good food and wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Nice selection on the menu and good choice of Italian wines. It was a busy Saturday night but service was good. We sat outside where the atmosphere was pleasant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Okay dinner with friends - could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We met friends who have a place in Durango & they chose Mutu’s. The patio was full but our reservations were inside. We all ordered drinks and requested bread (with olive oil) which was quite good. My drink (vodka soda) had to be sent back as it was 7up vs. club soda. The bread arrived with a season butter but we all used the olive oil.

We shared the field green salad with gorgonzola cheese & candied walnuts while our friends ordered the caprese salad and a field greens salad. The salads were all quite good. For dinner we ordered the Chicken Tortellini (cheese tortellini and grilled oregano chicken, with tomatoes and leeks in a garlic cream sauce) and Pasta Pescatore Sautéed with shrimp and scallops (no shrimp, please), garlic, diced roma tomatoes and leeks tossed with cappellini pasta in white wine basil sauce. The tortellini was good though a bit bland; the pasta needed more seasoning; added salt and crushed red pepper but it wasn’t able to add enough flavor to make the dish something special.

Our friends ordered the mahi and a “special” pasta dish for their dinner. One of them, over several visits, determined that they only liked certain things at the restaurant – maybe I should have followed her lead as her dish (penne with vodka sauce and chicken) looked quite good.

We might give Mutu’s another try sometime but there are enough other places to try before we might do that.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SaB_012331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mutu's Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mutu's Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing