We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rochester Hotel & Bar

Save Saved
You added Rochester Hotel & Bar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rochester Hotel & Bar
726 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & a Bottle of Bubbly!
Ranked #6 of 16 Durango B&B and Inns
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here (in the Leland House) for our daughter's graduation. The breakfast is wonderful, with homemade pastries, fresh fruit, homemade granola, and a full cooked breakfast. The staff is very helpful and friendly. We had 2 queen suites for our family. The kitchen is a full size kitchen, this is essentially a three room suite, with a living room, kitchen/dining, and bedroom. The beds are very comfortable too. And of course this is right downtown, and you can walk everywhere. What more can you ask.

Room Tip: Choose the queen suite in the Leland House if you want a full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt W, Manager at Rochester Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We hope you had a wonderful time at your daughter's graduation, we certainly enjoyed having you here as our guests during such an exciting time. Thank you for taking a moment to review us. We truly appreciate it. All the best in the future and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    28
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
54
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hat Choeng Mon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The Rochester is the place to stay in downtown Durango. A classic hotel and each room has its own western theme. Also the Rochester has a cool history as the Hollywood of the West. The breakfast which is included with the stay is out of this world. Made with all fresh ingredients and served by a friendly staff. Easy walking distance to downtown restaurants and shopping. A five star stay all the way around.

Room Tip: Easy choice here, they are all great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komick, Owner at Rochester Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Adviser and for your kind words. We appreciate it.
Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance in the future.
Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This cute hotel has staff members that really care about you and help you every time you ask. They go out of their way to accommodate your every need. Breakfast is like Grandma's house. Delicious and fresh as can be. Cannot wait for another "night away" stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komick, Owner at Rochester Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Adviser. We appreciate it!
I will share this review with our staff to let them know of your experience.
Please let me know if we can be of assistance at any time in the future from the Leland House and Rochester Hotel.
Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperus, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Rochester is quintessential Durango with the added benefit of modern amenities and flawless service. I live about ten miles outside Durango and was "in town" to see my friend play a night at the Henry Strater Theater, so decided to get a room at the Rochester instead of driving home. It was a great decision. The rooms are "old-style," but the beds are wonderfully updated (i.e. Hilton Heavenly Bed), the bathroom is stocked with Aveda products, and they have every TV channel you could possibly think of. My bag was carried to the room by the owner (Kirk), himself and he gave me a full description of what would be going on in the hotel that night and in the morning. Breakfast was amazing, to say the least. the coffee was wonderful, followed by a homemade breakfast sandwich served to my table. They also had homemade breads, fresh fruit and cereals available, too. I felt like one of the family. My husband and I also spent our anniversary night at the Rochester a couple of Januarys ago and it was great then, too. We always recommend The Rochester to friends and business people visiting Durango. As a side note, Kirk is a huge supporter of community events and is very well-thought-of by us locals - a good thing for out-of-town guests to know.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are probably quieter, especially if you plan to sleep in. I was downstairs and next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komick, Owner at Rochester Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Terri
Thank you for your kind review on Trip Adviser. I will share your review with our staff and let them know that they are appreciated.
Please let me know if we can ever be of assistance to you in the future. We do love to support our local non-profits and always appreciate being approached for donations and sponsorships.
Hope to see you for some great Durango entertainment soon.
Kirk Komick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband's job took us to Durango for a few days and we had the pleasure of staying at the Rochester Hotel. We have stayed at many bed and breakfasts, and we both commented that the Rochester's attention to detail placed them among our new favorites. From the warm greeting with fresh baked cookies and homemade hot chocolate, to our unique and very clean room, to the staff's interest in helping us find restaurant recommendations for dinner, and the wonderful breakfast. Our room was large and looked out over one of the main streets of downtown Durango. Everything was in walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt W, Manager at Rochester Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We are incredibly pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here at the Rochester! Thank you for taking a moment to review us, we really appreciate your kind words. And we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We enjoyed 2 nights at the Rochester during the Cowboy Poetry and Music Festival. Our room was huge, with windows that opened onto a courtyard where, to our delight, free entertainment was offered in the late afternoon along with wine and food. Our bathroom was postage stamp size, considering the room's size, but I guess that's just a quirk of updating an old building.

I think the room rate is high for what's provided. Breakfast service was somewhat disorganized and slow to arrive, but the people were very nice and were clearly working very hard in a very tight kitchen. It's hard to ask more than that. Good attitudes go a long way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt W, Manager at Rochester Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
You are right, all of our rooms are different sizes due to restoring a historic boarding house. And we are so sorry to hear breakfast was a little disorganized the mornings you stayed with us! However, we are pleased that our staff was able to make you feel welcome and comfortable and that you enjoyed the music in our courtyard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeadstern Mass
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel. Complimentary breakfast and use of bikes appreciated. But I was disappointed with the room itself . I understand the rooms are the original rooms dating back to the 1900s but found the cleanliness not there,eg.hairs in the bed,on the night table, and in the bathroom.It was quiet on the second floor but I think the night life in Durango is practically non existent. People are there mostly to enjoy the outdoor activities during the day. Did love the movie posters inside and outside the room very interesting info accompanying the posters. i did speak to the front desk about the condition of the room and was told it would be taken care of and it was the next day. The rate for this hotel is pricey for what is in the rooms. I guess your paying for the ambianceof abuilding that has been renovated to a point.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt W, Manager at Rochester Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We are so sorry to hear your stay was sub-par and we are quite horrified to know of the condition of the room when your arrived. But thank you for letting us know, as we want to make sure each and every guest has the best experience possible. Durango is definitely a destination for those loving the outdoors and this time of year (after summer and before the snow falls) is a quite period in town. We hope the rest of your vacation was pleasant and thank you again, for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rochester Hotel & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochester Hotel & Bar

Address: 726 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rochester Hotel & Bar is a historic hotel open since 1892. The hotel provides 15 rooms with private bathrooms all themed in an Old Western Hollywood style. New in 2012 is the addition of the Rochester Bar, providing an intimate setting for fine wines and cocktails. A full gourmet breakfast is included and cruiser bicycles are available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rochester Hotel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochester Hotel And Bar
Rochester Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rochester Hotel & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.