We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our new favorites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rochester Hotel & Bar

Save Saved
You added Rochester Hotel & Bar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rochester Hotel & Bar
726 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & a Bottle of Bubbly!
Ranked #6 of 16 Durango B&B and Inns
1 review
“One of our new favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband's job took us to Durango for a few days and we had the pleasure of staying at the Rochester Hotel. We have stayed at many bed and breakfasts, and we both commented that the Rochester's attention to detail placed them among our new favorites. From the warm greeting with fresh baked cookies and homemade hot chocolate, to our unique and very clean room, to the staff's interest in helping us find restaurant recommendations for dinner, and the wonderful breakfast. Our room was large and looked out over one of the main streets of downtown Durango. Everything was in walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt W, Manager at Rochester Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We are incredibly pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here at the Rochester! Thank you for taking a moment to review us, we really appreciate your kind words. And we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    28
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
54
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We enjoyed 2 nights at the Rochester during the Cowboy Poetry and Music Festival. Our room was huge, with windows that opened onto a courtyard where, to our delight, free entertainment was offered in the late afternoon along with wine and food. Our bathroom was postage stamp size, considering the room's size, but I guess that's just a quirk of updating an old building.

I think the room rate is high for what's provided. Breakfast service was somewhat disorganized and slow to arrive, but the people were very nice and were clearly working very hard in a very tight kitchen. It's hard to ask more than that. Good attitudes go a long way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt W, Manager at Rochester Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
You are right, all of our rooms are different sizes due to restoring a historic boarding house. And we are so sorry to hear breakfast was a little disorganized the mornings you stayed with us! However, we are pleased that our staff was able to make you feel welcome and comfortable and that you enjoyed the music in our courtyard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeadstern Mass
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel. Complimentary breakfast and use of bikes appreciated. But I was disappointed with the room itself . I understand the rooms are the original rooms dating back to the 1900s but found the cleanliness not there,eg.hairs in the bed,on the night table, and in the bathroom.It was quiet on the second floor but I think the night life in Durango is practically non existent. People are there mostly to enjoy the outdoor activities during the day. Did love the movie posters inside and outside the room very interesting info accompanying the posters. i did speak to the front desk about the condition of the room and was told it would be taken care of and it was the next day. The rate for this hotel is pricey for what is in the rooms. I guess your paying for the ambianceof abuilding that has been renovated to a point.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt W, Manager at Rochester Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We are so sorry to hear your stay was sub-par and we are quite horrified to know of the condition of the room when your arrived. But thank you for letting us know, as we want to make sure each and every guest has the best experience possible. Durango is definitely a destination for those loving the outdoors and this time of year (after summer and before the snow falls) is a quite period in town. We hope the rest of your vacation was pleasant and thank you again, for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Was looking for somewhere nice to stay in Durango for one night, whilst travelling on the Durango to Silverton Railroad - couldn't have chosen better! We had a ground floor room, very spacious, and lovely jacuzzi bath (which was so needed after a long day travelling). Durango was a very nice town - wish we could have stayed longer. Recommend the Serious Texas BBQ! And the train ride was fantastic, although my husband who is scared of heights may not agree!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt W, Manager at Rochester Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We are happy to hear you had a wonderful time at the Rochester Hotel! I will let Terisa know that her Serious Texas BBQ recommendation was a success. We hope the rest of your travels were just as pleasant as your time here in Durango. Best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

As a Colorado native who has been in MA since college it was great to get back to western CO. Needless to say Durango was not like it is now when I lived on the Western Slope! There are always lots of cowboy hats in Durango, but as our stay (inadvertently!) coincided with the 25th Annual Cowboy Poets Gathering there was a remarkable profusion of cowboy chapeaux.

We stayed at the Leland House, which is across the street from the Rochester. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Room was small, but fine for my wife and me, with lots of western paraphernalia. Bikes and umbrellas (despite there rarely being rain in Durango) were available for use. Home-cooked breakfast (havarti-dill scrambled eggs) and home-baked goods were excellent and included. We didn't sample the bar, but it looked cool. Room had real coffee in the refrigerator to use in the in-room coffee maker!

Value added: Cypress Cafe two doors down. Great dinner (Think elk medallions), good value, nice wine list.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt W, Manager at Rochester Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Cowboy hats abound especially during the first week in October every year :) We are glad you were able to make it through the crowded streets of Stetsons and that you had a special time re-visiting Western Colorado.
We would love to see you again next year when our bar is open in conjunction with our summer music series. Safe travels home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rochester/Leland House. The room was comfortable and had character, just like Durango! The breakfasts were terrific. All of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Although we did not have our pups with us on this trip, it was nice to see that the place is very pet-friendly. We are returning to Durango to stay for a couple months, and ultimately, to live. We look forward to recommending the Rochester to visiting friends!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt W, Manager at Rochester Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write the Rochester Hotel such a wonderful review. And thank you for passing your experience along to all your friends! We look forward to seeing you again and we look forward to meeting your pups!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to Durango within a year, as our daughter is now enrolled in college in town. We stayed here based upon other Trip Advisor reviews, and glad that we did! Extremely friendly staff, great home cooked breakfast and baked goods etc. We booked a suite and it had plenty of room for the 3 of us. It's an old hotel, so you have to expect small bathrooms and a bit of funkiness. The location is one block off main street, but there is a really good restaurant next door, the Cypress Garden, and an adjoining wine bar. The hotel has a nice large garden area to eat breakfast or just sit, and they have bands on Wednesday night. I would definitely stay here again. I love to be able to walk to everything, since at home, I cannot do that! Such nice staff as well.

Room Tip: Room 11 was great, had it's own outside sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt W, Manager at Rochester Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Paula,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are thrilled you enjoyed staying in the Leland House and we look forward to seeing you over the next 4 years as your daughter makes her way through Fort Lewis. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your future stays more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rochester Hotel & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochester Hotel & Bar

Address: 726 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rochester Hotel & Bar is a historic hotel open since 1892. The hotel provides 15 rooms with private bathrooms all themed in an Old Western Hollywood style. New in 2012 is the addition of the Rochester Bar, providing an intimate setting for fine wines and cocktails. A full gourmet breakfast is included and cruiser bicycles are available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rochester Hotel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochester Hotel And Bar
Rochester Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rochester Hotel & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.