We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Relaxing, Romantic Wedding Anniversary Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   999 Lightner Creek Rd, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Lightner Creek Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Durango B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colorado
1 review
“Wonderful, Relaxing, Romantic Wedding Anniversary Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

We went back to Lightner Creek Inn for our 11th Anniversary and were pleasantly surprised to find out it was under new ownership as of July of this year. The Inn is just how we remembered it from our weekend wedding in 1998. The new owners are very proud of their Inn and it shows in everything they do. We will definitely be back to this little piece of Heaven in Colorado.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    27
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
159
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

First of all let me say do not choose the Autumn blaze room, it is in an original part of the house, so above the kitchen and all the heat and noise rises. Also one of the only two windows in the room has an air conditioner in it, so if you (like me) had dreams of snuggling under your comforter in the cool mountain night -forget it. That aside the inn has been recently bought by new owners, at least one of whom can put a great breakfast on the table. Innovative without being (eek) 'clever' we found breakfast both morning we were there to be very enjoyable. The inn itself is charming and had lovely grounds as you would think from observing the web page http://www.lightnercreekinn.com/index.htm, and it is a very easy (and short) drive into Durango. the rooms are well appointed with quality linens and the bed was very comfortable. I would recommend this inn for romance or events, just don't take the Autumn Blaze in summer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, CA.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

Awesome property in a beautiful setting. Not to far out of town but just far enough, a perfect balance. State room was wonderful! This is my second stay and will be my preferred lodging whenever I visit Durango.

-Dave

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Peaceful, attractive, comfortable, everything you would want to help you relax and find yourself again. Loved the location.. just outside of Durango, but just minutes from downtown where it is way tooo noisy.
GREAT! breakfasts.
Room was a little small, could use more usable bedside tables, chest of drawers, but the price was good, and equal to the quality. Very pretty, very comfortable bed,
Owner/Innkeeper is very hospitable and great attitude towards service.
LOVED IT.. would return in a minute when able to.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Lightner Creek Inn is a beautiful piece of serenity! The grounds are really pretty and the LIghtner Creek actually runs through the back of the portion of the property. The rooms are very comfortable and clean! The breakfast was prepared by Kevin and so wonderful! The Inn is currently under transition and is now owned by Carlos and Charlotte. As far as the grounds are concerned, this is a wonderful place to be! So close to the town of Durango, but yet away from it all. We enjoyed the wild turkeys running around with their babies! There is even a trail head at the end of the street that is great to take a walk and enjoy the beauty of the area! Kevin, the current innkeeper will be leaving the end of July. I wish Kevin the best of luck. He is awesome! But, don't despair...Carlos and Charlotte are wonderful and really have an awesome vision for the Lightner Creek Inn. I look forward to checking back on the website to see their ideas come to fruition. I hope to come back again and join them as they create retreat itineraries. Carlos is a chef, so I am sure he will continue the tradition of great breakfasts that Kevin made while we were here. If you are traveling to Durango, don't pass up this bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

This is an oasis of beauty in the middle of Durango! The Inn has recently change Management and the new owners - Carlos and Charlotte are doing a great job at making guests feel warm and welcome.

We stayed in The Stateroom, which has it's own private entrance and little kitchen. Most of the rooms have a patio area or one easily accessible. My husband was here on business and I spent the time reading in the lovely outdoor area or out on the front porch sipping wine. The grounds are lovely! And, if you are a bird watcher they are everywhere! There is a little creek down below the property and a beautiful pond with lawn chairs to go and soak up the sun... really it is marvelous.

The breakfasts were good. Charlotte tried out some new recipes on us. We never left hungry.

All in all this will be one of our favorite places to visit -- it was a shame we had to leave!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

We spent two days at the Lightner Inn this July. The location in a quiet green valley was very restful. Breakfasts were great, and Kevin was very friendly and helpful. We were in the main house on the second floor in a very small room that was overly filled with furniture and felt cramped. Fortunately, we had access to a large deck which we used alot. The room was quite warm and stuffy and didn't cool down until the middle of the night...I'd recommend choosing another room. We missed having a small refrigerator available, and more closet storage space too. Cell phone reception was very poor, but the WIFi was fine. Comparing the price of the room with another nearby B&B where we stayed, the Lightner Inn was not as good a value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast

Address: 999 Lightner Creek Rd, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Lightner Creek Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resembling a country manor, Antlers on the Creek Bed and Breakfast's seven exquisite guest rooms with queen or king size beds and private baths are located in the farm house or the carriage house. Everything is renovated and ready for a new season. Come check out our new owner & her staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lightner Creek Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.