We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
999 Lightner Creek Rd, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Lightner Creek Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 16 Durango B&B and Inns
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Lighter Creek Inn is in a nice position close to Durango for the train, our room was upgraded free of charge which was nice and Patra and Marvin were very welcoming and sociable. The room and the house were very nice in a quiet location although you could hear other guests in their rooms. Being European breakfast was odd, there was no discussion on menu and you only got what you were served with, if you did not like it there was little else no toast at all, there was cereal but no milk, the America guests thought it was great but to us marmalade sauce on omelette and beef burger was odd.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    27
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
44
151
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent $200 per night and got a room with no heat, broken tub, non-flushing toilet and the ability to hear everything going on in the adjoining rooms. The lights were so dim we could not see to read and the TV was ancient and did not work. The breakfast was heavy and not very good and the owners were officious. The room was not very clean and it looked like a child had made the bed. We stayed here a couple years ago and enjoyed it very much, but this trip was a disaster. We will never stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We arrived in Durango during a driving rain storm and did not have reservations. Most places were booked up but called the Lightner Creek Inn and by chance they had one room available. It was a wonderful surprise for us as it is just a delightful place to stay. Great breakfast, lovely room, peaceful , wonderful views plus there is a state park just across the road from the Inn so we could go hiking. The owners are just the nicest people and we hope to see them next time we are in Durango.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marvinwshafer, Owner at Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank You for your kind words, when we close next month, I will miss visiting with the wonderful guests, like you.

Marvin and Patra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were only able to enjoy one night's stay at the Lightner Creek Inn but we do plan on coming back again on our next trip to Durango! The Inn is located just outside of Durango in a beautiful setting, perfect for starting your day or unwinding at the end of a long day. We were treated to a stuffed french toast with orange marmalade sauce for breakfast and it was delicious! Cute place we would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My sister and brother-in-law and my wife and I stayed here for three nights. The bed was not made the second night we were there for either of our rooms. During the second night the sheet came untucked. Then for our third night the bed was made, but they did not even tuck in the sheet which left my feet were sticking out. That didn't stop the room person from leaving a tip envelop in the room. They had a make up remover pad in the bathroom for the first night, but none for the next two nights. Two light bulbs were out in the bathroom. Room care definitely needed improvement.
They had a nice pond that would have been nice if it had water in it and weeds were coming thru the front walk . The grounds were pretty nice, but needed some care and tending.
My brother-in law has some dietary restrictions that I heard him explain to Marvin, but the second morning we were there Patra in a loud voice asked everyone in the dining area at breakfast if anyone had any dietary restrictions. That was insensitive to say the least and showed a significant lack of communication. Guest care definitely could have been better.
The breakfast each of the three days was an egg dish that was filling, but more variety would have been better.
It was generally quiet there, but the first night there was loud music we heard around midnight coming from either a nearby trailer park or from some other room. The access to town was convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marvinwshafer, Manager at Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Sorry your feet got cold, you should try wearing socks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at this B&B on way to Ouray and again on our way back home. When we come back again to Durango this will be our 1st choice. Patra & Marvin are great host. Wonderful breakfast and our room was excellent. Location is 3 miles appox to downtown and 30 miles from Mesa Verde. Also close to another route to Ouray thru Telluride if you don't want to take 550 mountain pass-- approx hour longer without the worry of overlooking drop offs especially between Silverton and Ouray.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had an awesome stay again for the third time. I would recommend this B&B to anyone and everyone. Have yet to be disappointed. The Orange Marmalade French Toast for breakfast was to die for. Marvin was gracious enough to share the recipe with my wife and she has since made it at home for our guests, and it was delicious. Both Marvin and Patra were wonderful hosts. The only thing suggestion I would make is for them to provide a daily morning paper to go along with their vast array of morning coffee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast

Address: 999 Lightner Creek Rd, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Lightner Creek Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resembling a country manor, Antlers on the Creek Bed and Breakfast's seven exquisite guest rooms with queen or king size beds and private baths are located in the farm house or the carriage house. Everything is renovated and ready for a new season. Come check out our new owner & her staff! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lightner Creek Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.