We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B near Durango” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
999 Lightner Creek Rd, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Lightner Creek Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 16 Durango B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Best B&B near Durango”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

This is truly an amazing property run by a couple of very attentive and charming inn keepers. They have only been at it about a year, but their attention to detail in every respect is impressive. We stayed in the Alpine which is a very large room for 3 or 4 people with a couple of comfy armchairs, a couch with table, a writing desk, and even a free standing gas fireplace! 2 Large queen beds with superior bedding helped create the feel of a luxury hotel.

Unlike so many motel rooms which would feel cramped with more than 2, this room allowed the 3 of us to stretch out. Views to the south across the small valley were stunning as the trees were changing colors. The very short drive to Durango is also a huge plus since many of their competitors are well out of town. And they are just over 30 minutes to Mesa Verde, one of the true wonders of America.

We also took advantage of the hot tub, even though it was in the 40's by the time we got in - invigorating!

Breakfast is cooked by Marvin who is good at cooking for larger groups. On our first day, we had scrambled eggs, bacon and a huge blueberry pancake that would put IHOP to shame. Amazing taste and great texture. Day 2 we had an excellent quiche with all the great coffee, tea or juice you can eat. Cookies and fruit are there to help sustain you through your activities later in the day.

Having stayed in many B&B's over the years, I would also say this one is excellent value. You get an awful lot for the money. October was also a great time to visit to avoid the crowds, and save some on offseason specials. Our weather was perfect.

Room Tip: The Alpine is perfect for 3 - 4 guests!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    27
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
44
152
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We drove down from Fort Collins, CO and reunited with friends from Idaho and brother in law from San Diego. Perfect out of the way place to come together. Breakfasts were wonderful and varied (we stayed 3 nights). A variety of homemade cookies available all the time. Marvin went out of his way and drove brother in law to the airport to catch a late afternoon flight while we headed out at noon on our 8 hour drive. Thank you Marvin!

Lili & Michael

Room Tip: The Tuscan is quiet and has a private outdoor entrance. Also quick access to the cookies in the bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This place is absolutely adorable, the house is nicely tucked away from main roads and totally quiet. Unfortunatelly, we didn't spent a lot of time in their beautiful garden since we had a lot on our list to see and do. Mesa Verde is just 35miles away and Durango is just down the main road. The place is away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough to get there in 5min with the car.

The Inn reminds me of my grandma's place, it has this cozy feeling when you come in. They have a main living room area, a kitchen and a breakfast room. There is always water, coffee, tea and cookies available which is super nice. The Innkeepers Marvin and Patra are really taking care of the place and it shows. Marvin also helped us with restaurants and we tried both over the weekend, delicious.

We had a room overlooking the garden and our own little terrace and it was nice and clean. They also serve breakfast in the morning, which is freshly prepared when you get down to the kitchen. They also have free wifi (which is important to us) and a nice choice of channels for the in-room tv.

We really loved it there and can recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: rooms upstairs or in the second house are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Excellent mountain biking from the Bed and breakfast on Hoffheins and Dry creek trail. Easy access to town.

Room Tip: Clean and neat
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at the Lightner Creek for one night as we were on our way to Telluride. Since our trip was last minute I could not sign up online but a phone call held our room. Our arrival was late due to some plane issues but we were still greeted with a smile and a tour of the facilities. The Inn is located very close to town but you feel like you are in the country. Very peaceful and beautiful. Our accommodations were very nice. The room was clean and very comfortable. In the morning Marvin & Patra fixed us a wonderful full breakfast and sat down to chat with us for quite awhile. As we said our goodbyes Patra fixed us a bag of homemade cookies to take along with us on our drive to Telluride. My only regret was not to spend more time at the Inn. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meadville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Located in a beautiful, quiet valley just outside Durango. Breakfasts were great(could eat at 0730,0800, or 0830). Hosts were very cordial and were willing to share info of the area. Grounds are a big plus. Only downside, wireless not working while we were there. Would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvinShafer, General Manager at Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry again about the wireless connection problem. However, after hours of troubleshooting, we finally found out that our new modem was defective. The next time you are here, the wireless should be working as it should. Thanks you for the review :). We are glad that you had a great time. ---Mark---
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My husband and I were wanting to take some time to relax and completely unwind from the stresses of everyday living. we were taken back by the stillness and beauty of the area. was incredibly peaceful. We were welcomed every morning with a delicious meal that Marvin made joined by Patra with her wonderful smile and bubbly self. The staff were very accomodating. We have stayed in B&B's for the last 10 years and found this one to be one that we would highly recommend and return too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marvinwshafer, Owner at Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
We enjoyed having you here. You were wonderful guest. After you checked out, my housekeeper came up to me and said, "they were so nice, and she gave me a hug when she left." The look on her face made my day.......

Marvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast

Address: 999 Lightner Creek Rd, Durango, CO 81301 (Formerly Lightner Creek Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resembling a country manor, Antlers on the Creek Bed and Breakfast's seven exquisite guest rooms with queen or king size beds and private baths are located in the farm house or the carriage house. Everything is renovated and ready for a new season. Come check out our new owner & her staff! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lightner Creek Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antlers on the Creek Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.