We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days End Motel

Days End Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Days End Motel to your Saves list
Days End Motel
2202 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Hesperia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Big disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Room and city is advertized as "DOG-FRIENDLY" but you can not leave dogs in room alone. they make you sign an agreement, that if they find your dogs in the room without you, they can call the dog pound and kick you out of hotel forfeiting your money. "DOG-FRIENDLY"! DOESN'T SOUND TO FRIENDLY TO ME!!! The staff was very rude when I asked them about this. Worst hotel ever. Bathroom sink in the bedroom. Stay here only as last resort.

Room Tip: go somewhere else !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    11
    25
    12
    25
See reviews for
14
25
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Spot plastering and spot painting on walls; bedspread and blanket ratty; noisy air conditioner. The free wi-fi is available only occasionally and is so slow as render it useless. Ice machine took my quarters and did not dispense any ice. Spend extra for a better room someplace else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This motel is dirty, stinky and run down. No amenities. Ice cost 25 cents. No coffee in room (in office) No kleenex. Shower was awful. Bed saggy. Outside needs restoration and paint. Carpets are greasy and worn. Towels you can see through. Go anywhere but here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Luckily asked to see room before checking in as outside did not impress. Expectations are not high when looking at budget hotels however clean is essential. Receptionist was helpful but otherwise avoid we took one look and left.

Room Tip: Ask to see room before paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is a basic and inexpensive hotel located on the North end of the main drive in Durango, New Mexico. Close to restaurants. Check in and out is efficient and friendly. The room was large, and clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

At first we thought the room was clean, but after seeing the mattresses,we were so disgusted. They were stained with blood or something awful. The large stains looked like they may have been there for years. We told the manager, and he was very rude and could have cared less about our complaint. We also took pictures to show him, and he said " what do you want me to do?" "Do you always check the beds?" We were told we were in the new part of the motel. We would hate to see the old part. Will never go there again. Wish we had read more reviews beforehand. Hate to think of someone else sleeping on that mess.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elana N, Manager at Days End Motel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
I apologize for the conditions of the mattress that you found. We always try and encourage our guests to look at the room and accommodations before staying. We would have gladly moved you to another room and given a discount to the new room as the previous room was not up to correct standards. As for the front desk clerk handling the situation in an unprofessional manner, I apologize sincerely. Customer service is #1 and we strive to have the best customer service. Bad customer service is not tolerated and again we are sorry for the service you received while staying with us. We are remodeling parts of our hotel and a good portion of the rooms have new beds and furniture. Being a privately owned hotel, it is not so easy to update all the rooms at once. We strive to do our best and give the best accommodations for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Same price in Colorado Springs I've got pretty good room, clean, fresh with beautiful view and BREAKFAST. Room was smelly, bathroom also. No view at all. And I should pay $85 for that because I had 2 beds in my room. For $85?! Hell nope. If you don't have to DO NOT stay here. Find something else.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days End Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days End Motel

Address: 2202 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Days End Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days End Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days End Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.