We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“22 July 2014 Walk About” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days End Motel

Save Saved
You added Days End Motel to your Saves list
Days End Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Days End Motel
2202 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Kabul, Afghanistan
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“22 July 2014 Walk About”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is a basic and inexpensive hotel located on the North end of the main drive in Durango, New Mexico. Close to restaurants. Check in and out is efficient and friendly. The room was large, and clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    10
    23
    12
    25
See reviews for
14
23
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

At first we thought the room was clean, but after seeing the mattresses,we were so disgusted. They were stained with blood or something awful. The large stains looked like they may have been there for years. We told the manager, and he was very rude and could have cared less about our complaint. We also took pictures to show him, and he said " what do you want me to do?" "Do you always check the beds?" We were told we were in the new part of the motel. We would hate to see the old part. Will never go there again. Wish we had read more reviews beforehand. Hate to think of someone else sleeping on that mess.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elana N, Manager at Days End Motel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
I apologize for the conditions of the mattress that you found. We always try and encourage our guests to look at the room and accommodations before staying. We would have gladly moved you to another room and given a discount to the new room as the previous room was not up to correct standards. As for the front desk clerk handling the situation in an unprofessional manner, I apologize sincerely. Customer service is #1 and we strive to have the best customer service. Bad customer service is not tolerated and again we are sorry for the service you received while staying with us. We are remodeling parts of our hotel and a good portion of the rooms have new beds and furniture. Being a privately owned hotel, it is not so easy to update all the rooms at once. We strive to do our best and give the best accommodations for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Same price in Colorado Springs I've got pretty good room, clean, fresh with beautiful view and BREAKFAST. Room was smelly, bathroom also. No view at all. And I should pay $85 for that because I had 2 beds in my room. For $85?! Hell nope. If you don't have to DO NOT stay here. Find something else.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Ed,
I'm so sorry for your unfortunate experience at our motel. We've been in the business for over 25 years, we serve hundreds of customers a week and strive to create the best possible motel experience for the community and tourists.
After we received the information about the room we had our maintenance take a look at the bathroom door as well as housekeeping look at the sheets on the bed. We spoke with the front desk employee who was the On Site Manager about his comment and he stated he that he never said "he wouldn't stay here".
Again I apologize for your bad experience we appreciate the review and will continue to do what we can as a business to make our guests happy and comfortable.
-Management

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elana N, Manager at Days End Motel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
I am sorry for your unfortunate stay with us at the Days End. We are more that willing to try and make your stay as affordable and comfortable as possible. We always try to encourage any guest to take a look at our room and accommodations before even staying. We understand that we may not have all the amenities for the guests but we do try our best to make most guests comfortable. Again we apologize for your unhappy stay with us. We will continue to do the best we can to make our guests as happy and comfy as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Sleep under a bridge instead, can't smoke inside or outside your room, maid woke me upat 8:00am by opening the door to my room while i slept. There was shampoo drips on the walls of the bathroom. I will sleep in my car before stopping at this dump again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

If I could give it a zero rating or less I would. Checked out 10 minutes after checking in. Pulled the blanket back and there were stains on the sheets. Room was dirty, bathroom door was broken. Would stay in a condemned house before staying there. Door going into the building did not secure because there was no locking system on it. Front desk person even said he wouldn't stay there.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our first rooms heater didn't work. We were moved to another, where everything was in working order. The facility is clean, affordable, and quiet. Nothing fancy here but it was neither expected nor needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days End Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days End Motel

Address: 2202 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Days End Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days End Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days End Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.