We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good motel with great rates” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days End Motel

Save Saved
You added Days End Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Days End Motel
2202 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 30 hotels in Durango
Dickinson, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good motel with great rates”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nice motel for the price. First night our a/c did'nt work. The next day they moved us to a much bigger and better room for the same rate. They had a big area for m/c parking protected from cars, which was nice. Housekeeping service was average. Kind of disappointing to have to pay for ice, but we survived. Convienent location to the FREE trolley system that runs all through town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    19
    10
    18
See reviews for
11
18
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a lot like Motel 6 used to be. Motel 6 used to charge 25-cents for television, but instead, Days End charges 25-cents for a bucket of ice.

We changed our plans not long after we arrived in Durango, and went to Days End around 4 PM. Our other accommodations were on the third floor and it looked a little dangerous to be dragging luggage up to the top. Fortunately, the Days End manager put us in a handicapped room. I'll call it handicapped, not wheelchair accessible. It had a real tub w/ grab bars, instead of the shower that's usually in the wheelchair accessible rooms. Even better, it was on the first floor, near the exit. No shampoo (pretty much like Motel 6 used to be), only a bar of soap and very thin towels. We also had a nice big round table near the window. Great for eating the tuna kits after our 19-block walk after our train ride.

We'd planned to stay in a bed and breakfast, so we had no breakfast fixings, and Days End only served lobby coffee after 7:30 am. No fancy coffee condiments, just good coffee. Fortunately, there was a Subway in the next block!

Comfortable beds. The only downside were the lamps w/ 40 watt light bulbs. Three lamps each with a 40 watt bulb aren't enough to light up a room. I mentioned this to the manager upon check out, and he said that decision was up to the owner. My husband could read from his Kindle Paperwhite, but I couldn't see my Kindle Touch at all. Our emergency flashlight got more use than normal.

If you're planning on the Durango transit, there are stops w/in a block of Day's End. But be sure they will be providing full service. No one told us ahead of time they planned to block off all the stops in the downtown area for the 4th of July. The transit office was closed, and route one had paper taped over it's schedule. We had walked 19 blocks before a shuttle drove up.

Room Tip: People over 40 may have trouble w/ the 40 watt light bulbs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My biggest pet peeve of all is being woke up by he maid at 8 a.m. while on vacation. If I wanted to be woke up at 8...I would place a wake up call. The air conditioning was asthmatic, and wheezed all night long. The room was just average, and the pool was nice, if you don't mind being along the side of a highway-like street. The only reason I didn't give it a poor rating was because the management was very nice and welcoming...too bad they can't train the maids not to wake up sleepy people and walk in uninvited....

Room Tip: The entire property is non-smoking, so if you smoke, you have to smoke in your car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

On my way to Silt, Co stopped in Durango for the evening on the 3rd I had not made reservations and was afraid of no vacancy for the 4th holiday, but was amazed to find a several hotels with vacancy. I found a sign that read " Best Value in Town" at the Adobe Inn and was tempted to pay the $89.00, for a senior rate, but decided to look at another hotel, so glad that I drove up the street to the DAYS END, they are $59.00, have Hot Tub and Pool and free wifi - what a deal! The room is large, has 2 Queen beds large bathroom , closet and armoire. The hotel looks like it has undergone remodeling , it is clean and comfortable. I will definitely return to this place for future visits to Durango, this has been the best hotel I have stayed in during my last 4 visits here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I am generally not picky when it comes to where I stay, but this place has really gone downhill since I was last here. The place is a DUMP. The place is overpriced for the dirty room you get and my door didn't even have a lock. The police always seem to be coming and going here, and they charge just to receive ice. This place is such a dump that I ended up sleeping in my car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Asked for a pet room but was changed to a non pet room. The office smelled bad, man that waited on me was rude. Could not give me the room I had reguested (king pet). After making the reservations they let you know about the 10.00 a pet fee. Once you have made the reservation you lose your deposit. I walked out without staying. Would not stay here!
.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had the task / challenge / courage test of staying in a freezing building that didn’t even have carpet on the stairs, or a lock that worked to gain entry to the building (The guts of the door was missing) this should have been more than enough to tell us to leave (We should have listed to the homeless people that filled the parking lot). The basement looked like something out of a Texas chainsaw massacre film, cold concrete enclosure with flashing lights and all smelled of coagulated blood but no one wanted to go check. There were more cameras in the hallways watching their precious vending machines than anything else. The mattresses were disgusting (blood and all) and matched the bed covers and sheet set. We were fortunate to find the complimentary porn DVD’s left in our room (The Babysitters). Then there’s the 20 dollar deposit to use the phone even for local calls and the 25 cent per use ice machine (Not even free ice WOW). No continental breakfast and the rooms stunk not like smoke like gas. We will never stay here again be warned this hotel should be inspected, tagged and condemned. The crack dealers and bums that line the entry to the "Hot Tub" will let you know you’re on their turf. The pool was closed because its outdoors and on Main Street (great placement for a pool).

Thank god our immune systems are up to par or at least we think they are…

Room Tip: There is not a good room here. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days End Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days End Motel

Also Known As:
Days End Hotel Durango
Days End Hotel
Address: 2202 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 30 hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Days End Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days End Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.