We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away location but worth finding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of T's Smokehouse and Grill

T's Smokehouse and Grill
3 Depot Pl, Durango, CO 81301-5457
970-259-6000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 169 Restaurants in Durango
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Southern BBQ at its best. Ribs, Pulled Pork, BBQ beef, Smoked Chicken, Po'Boys, House Ground Burgers, and much more. Large patio. Horseshoes. Cocktails, Beer,and Wine. Catering on/off premises. Located right behind the Depot!
Montgomery, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tucked away location but worth finding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were trying to find a casual place that had fried shrimp, a non-shrimp fish dish, and BBQ and this place fit the bill. The chicken was tasty and a large portion; the fried catfish and shrimp were also great and plenty was provided. Try the sweet potato "logs" over regular fries. No one else was there while we ate at 5 PM on a weekday, but we're not sure why as the food was good and reasonably priced. It got warm inside, but nice outside on the patio watching the trains arrive back in town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    31
    16
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bayfield, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise...Great Option Off Main Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Smokehouse was a nice surprise for me over the weekend. The chicken and ribs tender and the side dishes 1st rate. All nicely seasoned. I look forward to returning to try some of their sandwiches, soups and specials. I was also surprised at their drink offerings. Many frozen delights perfect on a hot day that are individually mixed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvaton, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Barbeque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Texas barbeque was excellent and so are the slaw, beans, and desserts. Our daughter and family live in Durango and this is their favorite restaurant and they say it is a favorite with all locals. They have covered outdoor tables which was nice in the cool evenings.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
606 reviews 606 reviews
365 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“NONE FINER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

You can smell the smoke from blocks away. Draws you in and gives you a mouthwatering expectation.

The Smokehouse is a small eatery with a large patio. Very crowded, but anyone can see why.

I ordered the "sampler platter." I expected a bit of this and that but not enough to fill me up. WRONG! This was a very large sampler of ribs, smoked chicken, pulled pork, andouille sausage, beef chunks and corn bread ($18). Also ordered red beans and rice ($2) and fired corn on the cob($2). WOW. . . All of it tender and tasty.

Great smoked flavor that really didn't need any extra BBQ sauce. I took half of it back to the hotel, . . .

The owners are very friendly and take time to speak to customers. The wife took about ten minutes talking with an elderly customer who was recounting his BBQ experiences from living in the South. He too had eaten none that was finer.

The husband looked exhausted. Said he started smoking early in the morning and I'm sure he did. Best restaurant we've found in Durango.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Great Hamburger"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was staying at the motel next door to T's. I wanted something to eat at the motel while watching the NBA final. I ordered a "Smokehouse Burger with a side of Potato Logs". I am a huge fan of hamburgers and fries. I have to say this was one of the best Burgers that I have ever eaten. Left town the next morning. Wish I would have been there longer to have eaten another meal at T's. Great place to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T's Smokehouse and Grill also viewed

 

Been to T's Smokehouse and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage T's Smokehouse and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.