We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bare Bones” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Adobe Inn

Adobe Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Adobe Inn to your Saves list
Adobe Inn
2178 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Bare Bones”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This motel on Main Avenue is a minimum standard place to sleep and shower. It's old, dated. Outside it looks clean and well maintained. The rooms are shabby, sheets stained, ridiculous A/C unit, and plumbing backs up a bit. No bugs or anything nasty. For $50/night I'd think "well, you get what you pay for." For $80 (discount), it is NOT a good value. But it is the cheapest game in town.

Staff was friendly and polite.

We will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    19
    15
    26
See reviews for
15
28
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pflugerville, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel is terrible. Room not only outdated but totally nasty. I could have overlooked if clean, but it was not. The red carpet was horribly stained and gross. There were chips on the floor around the bed and the sheets were questionable. Had we not driven 15 hours and gotten there at 11 pm, and had other option as to place to stay, definitely would not have stayed. Had to try and not think about it. No amenities - no coffee maker in rooms (and office doesn't open til 7:00) no hair dryer, no iron, breakfast advertised from 7 to 10 consists of packaged cinnamon rolls, ice machine empty. Would not stay again. Will pay twice the cost to stay in a decent place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We didn't have terribly high hopes for this hotel because it was the best deal we could find last minute, but we had driven by on other trips to Durango and noted it didn't look too bad. Our experience got off on the wrong foot with the kid at the desk, who my brother said was undoubtedly high. Nice enough kid, but two parties checking in and one person on hold (whom he forgot about so they called back and he put them on hold again, and most likely forgot about again when we walked out) was more than he could handle. Our keys didn't work so had to take them back down to get reprogrammed (or, programmed).

The room was big, clean, and dated to be sure, and the bed was hard. Not that big of a deal I guess when you don't pay much. We didn't bother with the complimentary coffee or cinnamon rolls at breakfast so I can't speak to those.

Also note that there is no shampoo, conditioner, or lotion in the room. My boyfriend had to use my lotion after his shower and smelled like a girl all day.

In summation, a quote from him, "The only good thing about that place was the towels were soft."

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdobeInn, General Manager at Adobe Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
This employee is a very good employee, who had an impacted wisdom tooth removed after lunch, and what you saw was a combination of this and pain medication.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This place had a funny smell which I never could quite identify. The bathroom door lock did not work. The bed was a bit hard. Do not be deceived by the words on the marquee which said, "Cinn Rolls". I knew it didn't offer breakfast but I was thinking, "A good cinnamon would suffice since they don't serve breakfast." It turned out to be a plastic-wrapped danish-like roll that you would get out of a vending machine. A disappointment! The clerk also locked up the office for an hour at lunch and there was no one to receive hotel guests who might come in at that time. The positive would be the price compared to many of the other Durango hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Rude owner. Locked out. Owner in office before 7am. Was told that he almost just left me locked out until 7am. Other traveling with us were locked out of the laundry room & had to call for help at 5am. Had to wait for someone to come on property to let them in to get their clothes. Ratty rooms. The only good thing I can say was it was it was quite and had microwave and frig.

Room Tip: There was no restaurant. They advertised cinnamon rolls for breakfast. Well what they had were rolls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

You know those showers that spray needles of water that hurt when they hit your body? These are the showers you can expect here. Also, they are the type of showers where you move the faucet handle a few centimeters towards cold and the shower will be freezing in about 30 seconds, so you adjust back towards hot and then its so hot you have to get out of the way, and try and turn correct where inevitable the process repeats itself. Don't stay here if you need a good warm shower.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

After researching TripAdvisor we chose this place as the cheapest in town. The sign advertised a price even $5 less than the best TripAdvisor price. As we checked in, it turned out that is price was only for a three-day stay. Nevertheless, an adequate place for overnight. We were in the downstairs, farthest from the highway room, and it was quite quiet.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adobe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Inn

Address: 2178 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See why we were voted "Best Lodging Value in Durango" for the 5th Year! We are located in the heart of downtown Durango, Colorado. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Adobe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adobe Hotel Durango
Adobe Motel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adobe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.