We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure what all the negative fuss is about ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adobe Inn

Save Saved
You added Adobe Inn to your Saves list
Adobe Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adobe Inn
2178 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 30 hotels in Durango
Hobart
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not sure what all the negative fuss is about ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I liked the look of this place when I drove past, and despite it being a bit more pricey than another motel I'd checked out up the road, I decided to stay and was happy I did. Room was very clean and smelt fresh, great wi-fi speed, new flat screen TV, quiet air conditioner (though a bit underpowered until I also put the normal fan on which was in the room, then all was good), lovely bathroom and bonuses for me were cheap laundry ($2 wash and dry) and a bucket and lots of rags out front for giving the bicycle a good clean. Special mention for the service - absolutely great - as I was checking out the lady on reception was calling a guest who had left their hearing aid behind. That's the kind of motel I want to stay at. Only small downside was the breakfast was pretty ordinary (packaged cinnamon roll and a cup of coffee).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    16
    13
    25
See reviews for
14
26
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We have just returned from a two week tour around Colorado and stayed at various hotels and this one for the price we paid was by far the worst, with no facilities in the room and no coffee available till 7.30a.m, the air conditioning was noisy and they charge up front for the first night , and the over flow on the wash basin had rust all over it.

Room Tip: If you can book some where else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdobeInn, General Manager at Adobe Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
In addressing this review, I'm not sure what he/she means by facilities.
The room has a full bathroom, bed, dresser ,end table, table and chairs, new 32 inch flat screen LCD TV mounted on the wall, carpets and drapes.
In reference to a payment made up front, when a guest reserves on line with a booking company it states that 100 % of the first night will be paid upon reserving. This is standard procedure with third-party reservation sites and is not our sole policy. If a reservation is made through our office, we charge in accordance with our cancellation policy or at 6:00 PM on the date of arrival. We open our office at 7:00 AM, every morning, and although we do not advertise a breakfast, we do serve coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and cinnamon rolls free to our guests and cookies, coffee, and tea in the afternoons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The staff at the Adobe Inn are friendly, competent and strive to be helpful. Sadly, they deserve a better facility. Altho our bed was comfortable, the remainder of the room was showing its age. They do allow dogs, which may compel some travelers to stay there; however, if you have choice, look at the alternatives.

Stayed July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This hotel is the only one in america that charges your credit card before you arrive. The room was
small musty smelling and no coffee maker, a space heater for heat. We paid over 100$ for this room and it was not worth it. The toilet broke the first night we called to have it fixed and they did indeed fix it.
Although it sang a little song for the next 2 nights. Good shower water pressure. Uncomfortable bed.
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Since I will be staying at an expensive hotel in Denver in a few nights, I was looking for something reasonably priced with a western flavor. The Adobe was just fine in my opinion. The rate ( in March ) was only $49 - a bargain. The room is spacious and nicely furnished. Plenty of hot water and two sources of heat.. However, there is no shampoo supplied and the " breakfast " is really minimal, although as another traveler noted, at least the packaged cinammon rolls are fresh. The coffee is good, too. A good overnight stay on a road trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durango
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

i stayed here for a month while waiting for my apartment to be available. the room was clean, the staff and the general manager were great and it is so conveniently located to everything, including the trolley. if need be, this is the place i would stay at again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Stayed in Adobe in August 2011 for two nights. The rooms and the complete Hotel needs work. Our room was in the second floor, reception side.
The bathroom was cleaned but old tiles and dirty joints between the tiles at some spots, broken tiles and old furniture makes it look dirty.
Bedroom was very dark, for finding stuff in our suitcase we used a torch.
Bed was OK and looked clean. We could hear the neighbour snore the complete night on one side and listen to the TV on the other.
Pool available but direct on the street not even separated by small trees or so, you basically lie on the sidewalk.
Would recommend this hotel if you need to sleep and all others are full.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adobe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Inn

Address: 2178 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See why we were voted "Best Lodging Value in Durango" for the 5th Year! We are located in the heart of downtown Durango, Colorado. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Adobe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adobe Hotel Durango
Adobe Motel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adobe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.