We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mahogany Grille

Mahogany Grille
699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5423
970-247-4433
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mahogany Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 160 Restaurants in Durango
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 7th Street
Transit: There is a trolley that has frequent stops throughout the Durango downtown area. www.durangotransit.com or 970.259.5538
Description: Mahogany Grille is your place to enjoy handcrafted cuisine while stepping back into time. We offer the ambiance of the Victorian Old West as we serve you an array of eclectic culinary specialties. It’s the blending of the simple with the ornate—of the old with the new. We invite you to view our menu selections where you’ll find a diverse array of faire. So whether you’re looking for a quick bite to eat, a relaxing night out, or to celebrate a special occasion, Mahogany Grille is a premiere Durango restaurant where you can create your own majestic memories.When preparing the Mahogany Grille menu, our award-winning staff gives special focus to farm-fresh recipes that represent new styles with old west flavors. We hand-cut our steaks in our butcher shop, carefully select our foods, and incorporate products by local growers when available creating a mosaic of tastes and textures. This detailed attention to our region is a reflection of our commitment to the great Southwest and its history, exceptional quality, and pleasing our community and visitors.We take pride in being well-versed in fine wine and spirits. Enjoy recommendations from our in-house Sommelier or be visually stimulated by our artisan cocktails. Complimented with our aromatic food, our wines and spirits make quite a delicious impression. One we believe will give you a unique experience that will delight your senses and keep you coming back for more.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Romantic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

A selection of wonderful entrees. The food is very good and the service was excellent. Reasonable prices especially if you take advantage of the early bird specials. Also specials related to the theatre next door. Inside the Strater hotel so if the weather is bad you don't have to get outside.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    36
    19
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

A wonderful dining experience in a beautiful and historic setting. We were seated at a nice booth for two by a friendly hostess. Our server made us feel very welcome and was attentive throughout the evening. We ordered a lovely and well-priced bottle of wine from an extensive list, with selections from around the world. We started with the crab cakes and a Caesar salad. Both were well-executed and delicious. My husband ordered the wild mushroom ravioli and loved them. I had the lamb chops and was equally impressed. Watch the horseradish mustard on top of each chop. Its potent, so a little goes a long way!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The bruschetta was exceptional, steaks were perfection! Bananas Foster was the perfect ending! The service from Connor and the waitstaff was impeccable, excellent suggestions. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding food as part of a reasonably priced dinner/theater package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We had dinner at the Mahogany Grill as part of the dinner/melodrama package. What an outstanding choice this was! Our service was near perfect as Connor and Elise did a magnificent job of waiting on us. Our food was delicious as my wife had the sirlion steak served with garlic mashed potatoes, steamed carrots, and a cup of tomato bisque soup. I had the salmon with rice pilaf, steamed carrots, and an excellent side salad. We both had the strawberry shortcake for desert, all for about $20 each. The old west atmosphere of the restaurant was a perfect compliment to the entire experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had the show -dinner combo, everyone at the table had the bacon wrapped filet except for myself, they were still talking about the tenderness of the steak two days later! I had the shrimp scampi which was tasty but a little in the scrimpy side, there were four large shrimp and two servings of potatoes, while it was good I wished I would have ordered the steak. Desert - order the chocolate cake, I chose strawberry shortcake, it was fine but a pretty dry pound cake. My husband had the chocolate cake and it was divine!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahogany Grille also viewed

 

Been to Mahogany Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahogany Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.