We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite special occassion restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mahogany Grille

Mahogany Grille
699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5423
970-247-4433
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mahogany Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 159 Restaurants in Durango
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 7th Street
Transit: There is a trolley that has frequent stops throughout the Durango downtown area. www.durangotransit.com or 970.259.5538
Description: Mahogany Grille is your place to enjoy handcrafted cuisine while stepping back into time. We offer the ambiance of the Victorian Old West as we serve you an array of eclectic culinary specialties. It’s the blending of the simple with the ornate—of the old with the new. We invite you to view our menu selections where you’ll find a diverse array of faire. So whether you’re looking for a quick bite to eat, a relaxing night out, or to celebrate a special occasion, Mahogany Grille is a premiere Durango restaurant where you can create your own majestic memories.When preparing the Mahogany Grille menu, our award-winning staff gives special focus to farm-fresh recipes that represent new styles with old west flavors. We hand-cut our steaks in our butcher shop, carefully select our foods, and incorporate products by local growers when available creating a mosaic of tastes and textures. This detailed attention to our region is a reflection of our commitment to the great Southwest and its history, exceptional quality, and pleasing our community and visitors.We take pride in being well-versed in fine wine and spirits. Enjoy recommendations from our in-house Sommelier or be visually stimulated by our artisan cocktails. Complimented with our aromatic food, our wines and spirits make quite a delicious impression. One we believe will give you a unique experience that will delight your senses and keep you coming back for more.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Our favorite special occassion restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We are lucky to have several good restaurants ins Durango. But the Mahogany Grille is on of our favorites. It is our "go to" spot for special occassions. The staff is responsive, the wine list is good without breaking the bank, the ambience is nice and the food is always good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    38
    19
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We ate dinner at the Mahogany Grille for both nights of our stay at the Strater Hotel. We were in Durango for a ride on the narrow gauge train, and it was so convenient to just walk downstairs each night to the hotel restaurant.

The restaurant itself has a very nice atmosphere, and the menu has lots of tasty offerings. My husband could not resist getting the bacon trio appetizer each night - he went crazy over it! He had the elk tenderloin for his entree on our first night there, and the pepper steak on the second night. He really enjoyed both of these meals. I had the potato encrusted chicken my first night there - so delicious! For the second night, I had the farmer's market pasta which was also tasty. Our entrees were served with a nice basket of bread.

For dessert both nights, I had the chocolate avalanche. If you are into rich and chocolate-y desserts, this is the dessert for you!

A real highlight of our dining experiences at the Mahogany Grille was the restaurant staff. All staff members we came into contact with including the hostess and restaurant manager were courteous and friendly. Our server, Toby, was fantastic! We had such great service with Toby the first night that we asked for him as our server in our second night too. Toby was very knowledgeable and all his wine and food recommendations were spot-on. In addition, he was very personable and fun to talk with. Toby rocks!

All in all, we had great dinner experiences at the Mahogany Grille and can highly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“MAHOGANY GRILLE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Another great restaurant in Durango. Four of us went last night,9/1/2013, and had a great meal and service. I thought THE RED SNAPPER was the best ,but they are about even. The atmosphere at the Mahogany was better. I read all reviews,some were not so good and I don't no why. We will be going back tonight.
BUD CARTER

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Don't understand other reviews with negative comments. Only one other place in Colorado have I had a pork steak close to as good. We had great service and the ambiance is first rate. A real find.



  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Latest Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I visited Mahogany Grille again recently. The atmosphere is outstanding. You feel you have stepped back to the 1880's. I ordered the pepper steak. it is an 8 oz. tenderloin. The sauce had the peppercorn taste. The steak was fork tender. My wife had the trout. It also was great. This is a gem in Durango. The pricing is very easy to handle.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahogany Grille also viewed

 

Been to Mahogany Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahogany Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.