We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mahogany Grille

Mahogany Grille
699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5423
970-247-4433
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mahogany Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 158 restaurants in Durango
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 7th Street
Transit: There is a trolley that has frequent stops throughout the Durango downtown area. www.durangotransit.com or 970.259.5538
Description: Mahogany Grille is your place to enjoy handcrafted cuisine while stepping back into time. We offer the ambiance of the Victorian Old West as we serve you an array of eclectic culinary specialties. It’s the blending of the simple with the ornate—of the old with the new. We invite you to view our menu selections where you’ll find a diverse array of faire. So whether you’re looking for a quick bite to eat, a relaxing night out, or to celebrate a special occasion, Mahogany Grille is a premiere Durango restaurant where you can create your own majestic memories.When preparing the Mahogany Grille menu, our award-winning staff gives special focus to farm-fresh recipes that represent new styles with old west flavors. We hand-cut our steaks in our butcher shop, carefully select our foods, and incorporate products by local growers when available creating a mosaic of tastes and textures. This detailed attention to our region is a reflection of our commitment to the great Southwest and its history, exceptional quality, and pleasing our community and visitors.We take pride in being well-versed in fine wine and spirits. Enjoy recommendations from our in-house Sommelier or be visually stimulated by our artisan cocktails. Complimented with our aromatic food, our wines and spirits make quite a delicious impression. One we believe will give you a unique experience that will delight your senses and keep you coming back for more.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We ate dinner at the Mahogany Grille for both nights of our stay at the Strater Hotel. We were in Durango for a ride on the narrow gauge train, and it was so convenient to just walk downstairs each night to the hotel restaurant.

The restaurant itself has a very nice atmosphere, and the menu has lots of tasty offerings. My husband could not resist getting the bacon trio appetizer each night - he went crazy over it! He had the elk tenderloin for his entree on our first night there, and the pepper steak on the second night. He really enjoyed both of these meals. I had the potato encrusted chicken my first night there - so delicious! For the second night, I had the farmer's market pasta which was also tasty. Our entrees were served with a nice basket of bread.

For dessert both nights, I had the chocolate avalanche. If you are into rich and chocolate-y desserts, this is the dessert for you!

A real highlight of our dining experiences at the Mahogany Grille was the restaurant staff. All staff members we came into contact with including the hostess and restaurant manager were courteous and friendly. Our server, Toby, was fantastic! We had such great service with Toby the first night that we asked for him as our server in our second night too. Toby was very knowledgeable and all his wine and food recommendations were spot-on. In addition, he was very personable and fun to talk with. Toby rocks!

All in all, we had great dinner experiences at the Mahogany Grille and can highly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    97
    35
    15
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
TEXAS
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“MAHOGANY GRILLE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Another great restaurant in Durango. Four of us went last night,9/1/2013, and had a great meal and service. I thought THE RED SNAPPER was the best ,but they are about even. The atmosphere at the Mahogany was better. I read all reviews,some were not so good and I don't no why. We will be going back tonight.
BUD CARTER

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Don't understand other reviews with negative comments. Only one other place in Colorado have I had a pork steak close to as good. We had great service and the ambiance is first rate. A real find.



  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Latest Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I visited Mahogany Grille again recently. The atmosphere is outstanding. You feel you have stepped back to the 1880's. I ordered the pepper steak. it is an 8 oz. tenderloin. The sauce had the peppercorn taste. The steak was fork tender. My wife had the trout. It also was great. This is a gem in Durango. The pricing is very easy to handle.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Overrated and disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I ate at the Mahogany Grille on a Friday evening recently and were quite disappointed with the quality of the food, the service, and the value. We had drinks and appetizers only. This was by design, although if things had gone well we might have ordered more, but it didn't go that way.

It took ten minutes at least before anybody approached us after we were seated; apparently there was some kind of mix-up. Not that big of a deal but surprising nonetheless. The server was nice and apologetic so we let it go, and truthfully if everything else had been better I would not be mentioning it.

Our server asked if we wanted a bread basket and we said we did not (not wanting to fill up), and a minute later the basket appears! Okay, who complains about that, right? Except we specifically said we did not want it!

Anyway, getting to the real problem here, we ordered three items from the appetizer menu: the shrimp and lobster cocktail, the mussels casino, and the crab and cheese fondue. All seemed reasonably priced, but as it turns out they were actually overpriced. The shrimp and lobster cocktail ($11), advertised as "chili verde cocktail sauce, Meyer lemon," arrived as ONE medium shrimp and what looked like one lengthwise-half of a very small lobster tail sitting on the edge of a goblet filled with a very, very horseradish-laden (to the point of being inedible) cocktail sauce. There was absolutely no value to this dish.

Next up was the crab and cheese fondue ($11): this is described as "jumbo lump crab, 5-year aged cheddar, scallion cream cheese, house made baguette bread." This tasted fine in and of itself, except any crab that was in it was too little to actually taste. This dish was basically a mild chili con queso with bread instead of tortillas, and as such it was kind of a rip-off.

Last, and for us, least was the mussels casino ($9). This dish is described as "half-shell mussels, roasted garlic, bacon, red pepper, onion, lemon-parmesan bread crumbs." What arrived was six small-to-medium mussels filled with mostly bread crumbs that frankly did not taste like anything. For this kind of dish to work you need to use large mussels, like New Zealand green-lipped, or even large PEI mussels. In any case, they didn't and the dish was like eating dried breadcrumbs.

Within the span of a minute or so, two different people tried to bus our table while we were still eating, which is to me one of the bigger cardinal sins of restaurant dining. Let people finish!

The setting is nice, the drinks were okay, but mediocre service and sub-par food mean that we will not go back. It's just not worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahogany Grille also viewed

 

Been to Mahogany Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahogany Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.