We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, but not Quite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caboose Motel

Caboose Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Caboose Motel to your Saves list
Caboose Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3363 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quaint, but not Quite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The hotel was very outdated, but clean. Not any amenities. Somewhat overpriced for the accommodations. Our room was fairly close to the main road going thru town so at times the road traffic noise was a bit much.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    43
    14
    8
    13
See reviews for
21
48
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I found this gem of a motel online. It is nothing fancy it is a great place to stay. More than reasonable rates (especailly for Durango). Awesome, helpful staff that are more than happy to make your stay extremely comfortable, and the rooms are very comfortable. They are motorcycle friendly, which is an added bonus! Micro, fridge and coffee maker in the room. This is not a fancy motel, but I would rather stay here than anywhere else! I will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The managers of this property are super nice and very helpful. The room was cute and fit the area perfect. They have a nice gazebo area outside to sit in and visit or eat along with a gas grill that you can use if you want to dine at the motel. The room we had also had a fully furnished kitchenette. Durango offers free trolley rides along the main strip that is great to take advantage of. You can hop on that right down from the motel. Only downfalls were no pool to cool off in after a hot day and the parking area is on a hill. If your coming in on bikes let them know for parking purposes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Older motel, family owned and not too far from historic downtown. They have a town shuttle that stops right out front so easy to get downtown. Upon arrival, we were met by a delightful lady who had our room ready early and had turned our AC on before we arrived. We were hot and tired from riding all day so were thrilled to be able to get settled in. Our room was nice and cool, had a kitchenette and was spic and span. Bed was comfy, the TV was tiny and our room was close to the road so a little noisy. Overall we were pleased and will happily stay here again. Will likely request a room a little further off the street and pray to not have the mini van with 2 oblivious parents and 5 hyper kids parked in front of our room with a remote key lock that honks at every access :) Not the motel's fault but would blame parents.

Room Tip: Ask to have one of the rooms behind the office. We were closer to the road so it was pretty noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

lodging (and food) in durango is all overpriced, so you need to look at everything as a comparison--and in comparison to other hotels/motels in durango, this little place is a very good deal--family owned, meaning they want you to enjoy your stay, and to return, as opposed to the chains/box hotels, whose minimum wage employees don't care--if you are in to fancy, this might not be the place for you--I must admit that dogs and smoke in the lobby worried me (wife's allergies) but the room smelled very fresh and was squeaky clean--fridge, microwave, coffee maker, good beds, and plenty of hot water--terri was very pleasant and helpful--we were traveling with 3 grandkids, and she made sure we had plenty of extra towels, etc.--will stay there in the future

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here for one night in June and can't understand why this place gets such top reviews. Our first impression was not good. Yes, the owner was friendly and helpful, but the office was dark and dingy and smelled of smoke. Our room had just been cleaned, but the fridge was still full of the previous guest's food, which indicates that the cleaning job wasn't very thorough. All the fixtures were ancient although clean (we think) and in working condition. Overall, the motel seems like it's patched together and on its last legs with no effort put into updates. An average stay but overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijeras, New Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We've stayed here in 2013 when riding the train to Silverton and decided to stay again this weekend.
This is a small property and privately owned and operated by nice friendly and helpful people.

The rooms are nice, clean and roomy with a western themed decor.

Our room was right by the highway so a bit noisy, but not too bad with the A/C running and keeping us cool.
No phones in the room which is a nice thing for vacationing!
This is a short drive north of downtown and near restaurants, grocery stores, and of course the TRAIN!
If you want a change from the big chain hotels, this is a nice place and fun!

Room Tip: You might be best selecting a room away from the main highway that goes by. It's not that bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
1.6 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#16 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
0.1 mi away
Knights Inn Durango
Knights Inn Durango
#25 of 30 in Durango
3.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
22.9 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caboose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caboose Motel

Address: 3363 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caboose Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Caboose Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caboose Motel Durango
Caboose Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caboose Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.