We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is very clean & the staff/owners were super hospitable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caboose Motel

Caboose Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caboose Motel
Save
You added Caboose Motel to your Saves list
3363 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Southern Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It is very clean & the staff/owners were super hospitable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Older motel, family owned and not too far from historic downtown. They have a town shuttle that stops right out front so easy to get downtown. Upon arrival, we were met by a delightful lady who had our room ready early and had turned our AC on before we arrived. We were hot and tired from riding all day so were thrilled to be able to get settled in. Our room was nice and cool, had a kitchenette and was spic and span. Bed was comfy, the TV was tiny and our room was close to the road so a little noisy. Overall we were pleased and will happily stay here again. Will likely request a room a little further off the street and pray to not have the mini van with 2 oblivious parents and 5 hyper kids parked in front of our room with a remote key lock that honks at every access :) Not the motel's fault but would blame parents.

Room Tip: Ask to have one of the rooms behind the office. We were closer to the road so it was pretty noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    38
    13
    5
    12
See reviews for
18
39
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

lodging (and food) in durango is all overpriced, so you need to look at everything as a comparison--and in comparison to other hotels/motels in durango, this little place is a very good deal--family owned, meaning they want you to enjoy your stay, and to return, as opposed to the chains/box hotels, whose minimum wage employees don't care--if you are in to fancy, this might not be the place for you--I must admit that dogs and smoke in the lobby worried me (wife's allergies) but the room smelled very fresh and was squeaky clean--fridge, microwave, coffee maker, good beds, and plenty of hot water--terri was very pleasant and helpful--we were traveling with 3 grandkids, and she made sure we had plenty of extra towels, etc.--will stay there in the future

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here for one night in June and can't understand why this place gets such top reviews. Our first impression was not good. Yes, the owner was friendly and helpful, but the office was dark and dingy and smelled of smoke. Our room had just been cleaned, but the fridge was still full of the previous guest's food, which indicates that the cleaning job wasn't very thorough. All the fixtures were ancient although clean (we think) and in working condition. Overall, the motel seems like it's patched together and on its last legs with no effort put into updates. An average stay but overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijeras, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We've stayed here in 2013 when riding the train to Silverton and decided to stay again this weekend.
This is a small property and privately owned and operated by nice friendly and helpful people.

The rooms are nice, clean and roomy with a western themed decor.

Our room was right by the highway so a bit noisy, but not too bad with the A/C running and keeping us cool.
No phones in the room which is a nice thing for vacationing!
This is a short drive north of downtown and near restaurants, grocery stores, and of course the TRAIN!
If you want a change from the big chain hotels, this is a nice place and fun!

Room Tip: You might be best selecting a room away from the main highway that goes by. It's not that bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is an older motel that is family owned and operated. The staff and owners were very accommodating and friendly. We got here a night early and stayed in another room, other than our reservation. Good comfortable bed, firm but plush. The next morning they did up the room we had reserved first and we were able to switch seamlessly. The beds are never older than 3 yrs and are all Serta. The rooms are very clean and for the high season in Durango, the rates are very good.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a kitchenette, all have micro, coffee and refrig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Was exactly what we needed after a long drive. Good price clean room and comfortable bed. Very quiet location but very close to everything in Durango. Maureen was very friendly and full of information. Will definalty stay here again. Hopefully longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hookstown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I just spent 3 days at the Caboose Motel in Durango CO. Everything was perfect for us. Would stay here again if ever in Durango, CO. The motel was just yards from the Durango Trolley which provides a free ride to the downtown. Excellent!

Room Tip: I prefer the type of room that allows me to park at my door...this motel gives you that option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caboose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caboose Motel

Address: 3363 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Caboose Motel Durango
Caboose Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caboose Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.