We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint but very clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caboose Motel

Caboose Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caboose Motel
3363 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 hotels in Durango
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quaint but very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This little place has an old world feel about it. Reasonable place to stay but no amenties such as pool,jacuzzi or even continental breakfast. However price is right and you would be hard put to find a cleaner but semi secluded place to stay. Always go back to here when I am in Durango

Room Tip: all rooms face the highway but no highway noise is forthcoming
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    35
    9
    4
    11
See reviews for
17
35
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Averill Park, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We love Durango and decided to stay at the Caboose Motel after seeing it advertised in a travel book. The rooms have a '50s feel to them, with a western flair. We had a room close to the road, yet there was very little road noise. Comfortable and charming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I have stayed in three different rooms now at The Caboose. All have been amazingly clean. The beds were comfortable. The rooms eclectic but homey. The manager, Terri, is always so polite and helpful. We've met the owner and she seems like a super nice lady too. The ONE AND ONLY complaint I have, I'd love to see bigger TV's in all the rooms. Some do some don't. The only time we are watching TV when there is as we are going to bed, so it's not a deal breaker for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I needed a place for one night and didn't want to spend a lot. The caboose is like stepping back in time to the motor lodges of the 60's where you park right outside your door. It isn't a resort and isn't modern, but it is clean and gets the job done. The baths had been remodeled and the bed was very comfortable. There was also a small kitchenette which I did not use. The room had a flat panel tv, 2 tables, a small chest of drawers, and a window A/C. Heat was from a space heater in my particular room although there was a wall unit too. There are a couple of things to be aware of: you pay in advance which is a little different. Also there is no shampoo in the room. The office will provide some in a cup if you need and it wasn't a big deal for me. There is some traffic noise but it didn't bother me. Some people complain the price is too high but it is way less than the chains in town but higher than the low end hotels that look dirty and have sketchy customers. If you are particular and like the chain experience, this may not be the place for you. However if you just want clean, a good bed, and 50 percent cheaper than the chains in town, this is fine. Overall, a good experience and I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Yes, this is a small, older motel with a teeny, tiny bathroom, but it was clean and much less expensive than the bigger chain motels/hotels in town. We spent 3 nights here while dropping our daughter off at college and it did the job. A nice, comfortable, big bed. Close to the college. The room did get a little hot, but we turned on the a/c and it cooled off quickly. The manager was very nice. Nice little grassy area where we could sit out and watch the world pass by. Good coffee and breakfast burrito right next door at Durango Joe's!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Came into Durango for the night and was very pleased with our checkin, she was helpful and pleasant! Our room was small but had everything we needed! Coffee in morning was good! Sure it's quite dated but it had character which adds to our memories of Durango! Felt rate was high for what it was, but it is summer and in a tourist town!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We chose this motel based on Trip Advisor reviews and can say the property exceeded our expectations. The desk manager was great! She provided us with recommendations for our meal(s) and free local transportation services. The AAA rate was great and if we are in the Durango area again, we'll give the Caboose our business.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
4.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango, CO
Free internet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Knights Inn Durango
Knights Inn Durango
#23 of 30 in Durango
3.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango Hotel
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
Charming, Mid-r...
Show More
2.3 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#5 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caboose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caboose Motel

Address: 3363 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 hotels in Durango
Also Known As:
Caboose Motel Durango
Caboose Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caboose Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Caboose Motel to your Saves list