We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's with character and memories!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caboose Motel

Caboose Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Caboose Motel to your Saves list
Caboose Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3363 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“It's with character and memories!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Came into Durango for the night and was very pleased with our checkin, she was helpful and pleasant! Our room was small but had everything we needed! Coffee in morning was good! Sure it's quite dated but it had character which adds to our memories of Durango! Felt rate was high for what it was, but it is summer and in a tourist town!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    38
    13
    5
    12
See reviews for
19
40
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We chose this motel based on Trip Advisor reviews and can say the property exceeded our expectations. The desk manager was great! She provided us with recommendations for our meal(s) and free local transportation services. The AAA rate was great and if we are in the Durango area again, we'll give the Caboose our business.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Okay. I'm going to be upfront and say that the list of rules and instructions was a bit off putting.

BUT, it matched the homey, quirky, familiar comfy quaint thing that I would go back for. I'm not sure I will try another hotel in Durango now. If the Caboose is full, I'll put my name on the list and camp out in the San Juan National Forest until the room is available.
I loved it. I'm not gonna use the stove. Like, ever, but it's nice to know I can. The woodwork is just like Grandma's old house and the beds are perfectly comfortable. The rule lister at the front desk was wonderfully helpful and the ONLY thing missing is doilies. A place like this should have doilies everywhere. The price was low medium for the area and therefore the value was outta the park great. I was amazed and surprised and I

DEFINITELY RECOMMEND!

Room Tip: Had the corner room as you pull in. The walls are sound, so no noise bothered us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Pulled into Durango with 2 kids and no room reservations in town. Pulled into about 4 places along Main Ave and found prices way too high for what they offered. I mean, $149 for a basic room just doesn't sit we'll with me. Almost took a room at the Budget Inn for $54 but let's jus say it wasn't quite clean. I would had the kids use their sleeping bags. Drive down a block to the Caboose and the manager, Terry, was so nice and insisted we look at a room before settling on the Budget. So glad we did. Rooms are not fancy but charming, clean and perfect for a family. Comfy beds. Great water pressure in shower. A little more than Budget, but so much better!! Family owned and full of character. Our room was a basic with 2 queen beds but they also have ones with a small kitchen which I would boom next time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Getting an affordable place to stay in Durango is always a challenge. This is a Mom and Pop American owned and managed motel centrally located and very comfortable. Biker friendly the staff goes the extra mile to ensure a great stay. No breakfast but close to several good restaurants. Will stay here again

Room Tip: Rooms along the back are best for bike parking. Although we had a side room the manager offered us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijeras, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed two nights during the 4th of July weekend and loved the place. The room was clean and the bed comfy. It's just north of historic downtown but convenient to the train station and restaurants. It is older,but it's charming and beats the chain hotels by miles in character. The front desk person was helpful and friendly. If you want homemade comfort, this is the place to go!

Room Tip: rooms away from the road are a bit quieter, but the noise level on the street is really not that not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Seems appropriate that the top rated lodging in Durango is the huge megaplex plastic and safe chain lodge (ugly, ugly roadside blight). This what most of the people want. They are really missing out on boutique motels, a growing trend. Its the lodging back-lash to the chains, just like in restaurants. But in our case, these old motor lodges are being rescued and saved. The neon signs themselves are worth preserving. Be a sport and take a break from your frequent flyer cards and try one. Yes, it could be hit and miss, because these places are only as good as the owners. In the Caboose's case, it was worth it. Clean and nice and very personable. I don't agree with the owner's decorating, but I'll give her that be it is her! We had a fine time staying there for 2 nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caboose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caboose Motel

Address: 3363 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caboose Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Caboose Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caboose Motel Durango
Caboose Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caboose Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.