We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Trip to Durango” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caboose Motel

Caboose Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caboose Motel
3363 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 30 hotels in Durango
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First Trip to Durango”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Don't let the dated look of the motel or the rooms stop you from staying here. I commented to my husband almost immediately that the room looked and felt cleaner than our house (I have left hotels and motels after walking in the room). Our bed was comfortable, the sheets were so soft and the staff had made sure the room was warm for our arrival. Terri, the manager, was great at providing suggestions for places to eat, enjoying the town even great places outside of town. We spent three nights at the hotel and could not have asked for a better experience or friendlier staff, including the friendly but not intrusive border collie, Rockie, that lives at the motel.

We plan to return in the fall and this is exactly where we will be staying.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    34
    8
    4
    11
See reviews for
16
34
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deer Park, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stumbled on to this motel after a long drive, and were very pleased. The room was very clean,and the bed was very comfy,the staff made us feel very welcome as well. This is very close to the Durango/ Silverton train which is what we had planned We are already planning our next trip and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

...this is a very "quaint" motel. The rates in the winter start at $49 for a King - $52 for 2 queens. The rooms are nice and clean. There is a frig, microwave, and coffee maker in each room. There is no breakfast, but it isn't a chain hotel.

I slept well, and it was very quiet. It's near a great Bar-B-Q place !!!! ...

The staff at the front desk was polite and very helpful. Their ice machine is outside and cannot be used in the winter because of the cold weather; but if you need ice, the front desk will provide that for you.

Have stayed here numerous times over the years and am never disappointed.... Try it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our yearly "get-away" weekend from Phoenix in August took us to Durango this year. So glad we took the advice from a co-worker to stay at The Caboose Motel because our mini-vacation was much more enjoyable due to selecting The Caboose.

Terry, the manager, shared great tips on enjoying the restaurants and shops in downtown Durango ... which were walking distance from the motel. Great value compared to the chain hotels, and the friendly attention from staff made us decide to book here ahead of time for our next visit. Clean room... and being able to park just outside the room is always a comfort.

We have already recommended the Caboose to our circle of friends for their next Durango get-away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed for 1 night before backpacking in the San Juan. Terry, the woman working, was very kind and made sure that we had our key for the late check-in. The beds were comfortable and the room was moderately spacious. The only complaint I have is that the A/C wasn't very efficient. This isn't a luxurious place, but it was a fun local motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

So having stayed in chain motels The Caboose made a nice change. It was walking distance from town, unique, friendly helpful staff and a good price. The room was nothing special, but the bed was comfortable, the TV was good and the shower was warm. There was a whole bunch of things that would have been great had i stayed longer like and oven and fridge but i was only there for one night.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed here 4 nights - 2 and then 2 more in a different room a couple days later. I found the staff and the owner very friendly, the rooms nice and clean, the beds comfortable. This is an older, single-level hotel where you park right in front of your door. Can't beat that. Most of the chain hotels in town charge twice as much or more, and you end up with people stomping on the floors above you, screaming kids running up and down the halls, etc. I slept good at this hotel and it was mostly nice and quiet. Great value. My friend stayed at the Hampton Inn up the road, paid more than twice as much, had to lug her luggage up the stairs, and didn't even have a refrigerator in her room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caboose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caboose Motel

Address: 3363 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 hotels in Durango
Also Known As:
Caboose Motel Durango
Caboose Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caboose Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Caboose Motel to your Saves list