We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caboose Motel

Caboose Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Caboose Motel to your Saves list
Caboose Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3363 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed here during a month long road trip as we wanted to visit Durango and I've always had a fascination with trains. But the caboose theme ends at the lobby. The room are very plain and a bit outdated. The staff wasn't pleasant but coming through town again I think I'd choose to stay elsewhere. Perhaps someplace closer into town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    43
    14
    8
    13
See reviews for
21
49
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LaPaz Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

My two college age kids and I stayed overnight in June of 2011 and we found the motel very quaint in a nice way. I noticed that another person's review wasn't so happy with everything; but I feel like they would be better off at the more expensive hotels down the road since they seem a little more persnickety. Which is fine, but don't most people understand that a typical motel is going to be a little bit older, and that is what gives the room character? Anyways, we found the room to be clean, and a GREAT price, along with a nice location. Durango can be very expensive, so if you are wanting a good deal, then check out the Caboose Motel. The staff was extremely nice and helpful as well. Since it was our first time to Durango, they gave us some useful information on the sights etc. Would go back in a heartbeat!
Beth S.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We had rather a strange start at the Caboose. Checked in no problem but when my husband went to wash his hands he discovered there was no plug for the basin in the bathroom. Maureen told him they’d disabled the mechanical plugs because people got confused with them and broke them. Doesn’t seem to happen in any other motel/hotel we’ve used ! Anyway she rootled around in another unit and came back with one but that was the wrong size so she said she’d have to get on from the hardware store and it might not be the same day. In the end she must have managed because there as one when we returned from shopping. She did seem to think we were a bit odd for wanting one – ah well, each to their own.

The rooms were what we’d describe as surface clean - not deep clean. The dust/grease on the cooker extractor hood was a bit yucky. The kitchenette was a bit minimalist, just a small hob with a couple of burners, a sink, fridge/freezer, microwave and coffee machine. The cooking equipment was very limited and all needed a good clean before we used it. One of the glass saucepans was so chipped we didn’t dare use it. The crockery and cutlery we reckon was bought from a thrift shop – nothing matched and mostly chipped and cracked. There were two glasses, both about pint size which made for interesting wine consumption ;-)

On our second evening the gas burners failed to light and we had to bum a light off a smoker standing outside another unit – there was nobody at reception. We didn’t think much of it and bought a lighter the next day but on returning to the room there was a very noticeable smell of gas - we were surprised that the cleaner hadn’t noticed. Nobody at reception again but we managed to catch up with Terri (the motel’s greatest asset) and she said it was the pilot lights gone out and that it happened all the time. She gave us a proper long nosed lighter and we had to use that a few more times during the stay.

The décor is tired and there are too many dust-traps scattered around – superfluous fake flowers and other trinkets.

OK, those were the downs, the plusses were that Maureen (owner) gave us a discount as we stayed for 5 nights and with the kitchenette this made it a reasonably priced stay. The location is fine and is perfect for self-catering as the City Market is almost opposite. As I said, Terri is the motel’s best asset, she’s friendly and helpful.

Don’t think we’d return despite the price though.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

This is a great place for Harley Owner's Group riders. It reminds me of the hotels of the yester years. It's clean, comfortable, and they are Harley friendly. They provide a clean rag and a bucket upon request so you can wash your Harely. Terry, has been just wonderful to work with the two times we have stayed with them. She is a good source for what to do and were to eat.
Please treat these people at the Caboose with respect so we can enjoy staying here for a long time to come. Harley riders are different in a good way. We leave with the owners wanting us to see us again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

The rooms are decorated in a cabin style, not your bulk standard motel.
The receptionist was friendly and helpful, and the room was reasonably priced at $48.
Some traffic noise from the road, so would recommend ear plugs.
Oh, and don't expect to be able to walk to the historic downtown as it's almost 3 miles :-)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Did not have reservation but had noticed motel on previous trips to Durango: cute from outside, name intrigued me. Had priced around town, finding room rates to be across the board but a busy time of year. For the price Caboose Motel charged us (two pax for about $95/night) we should have been staying in a NICE motel, not this basic, "plain jane" motel......not even dual pane windows (traffic was LOUD!) nor was breakfast included...must say bathroom was clean & they do provide a four cup coffee maker, small fridge & microwave. Just found that motel is way over priced for what they offer, esp. for a midweek stay (Monday and Tuesday nights) even if it was July....I'd have GLADLY paid $49/night but NOT double!

Room Tip: IF you have to stay there, ask for room away from main road: LOUD and windows are NOT dual paned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

we drove around town, stopped at a few and asked prices. This hotel seemed to be the cleanest for the price. Lady at check in was very friendly, helpful for recommendations of restaurants, even gave us a coupon for "ore house" (great steaks!) Room was spacious, was surprised to see a kitchenette. The room was clean, bathroom was good size. Would absolutely stay here again and highly recommend it! Short drive to down town, or shuttle stop is right next door.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
1.6 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#16 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
0.1 mi away
Knights Inn Durango
Knights Inn Durango
#25 of 30 in Durango
3.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
22.9 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caboose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caboose Motel

Address: 3363 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caboose Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Caboose Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caboose Motel Durango
Caboose Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caboose Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.