We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Camping Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Riverside Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Durango Riverside Resort
Save
You added Durango Riverside Resort to your Saves list
13391 County Road 250, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Durango
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
“Wonderful Camping Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

From September 20-26, 2012, we got one of the "special price" cabins that was off the river and we could not have been happier. The park is very clean, bathrooms and showers are clean, and the cabin was also clean. Even though we were off the river, a short stroll down the hill brought us right to the waters edge. And fronting the river is some gigantic and gorgeous mountains! What else could one want when "roughing" it? The cabin had a fire ring (which we did not use), a small grill (which we did use), a porch swing (which we used), a table and chair inside, plenty of electrical sockets to recharge phones and MP3 players, and a ceiling mounted heater (which we definitely used).

I only wish the pads on the beds were just a little thicker because this old body of mine needs all the cushioning it can get. But, since it was just my wife and I, we took the pads off the bunk beds and added them to the full sized bed....problem solved.

We experienced no bugs of any kind, but did have one inquisitive squirrel who produced a moonroof in our styrofoam cooler. But it was our fault for leaving it outside with goodies on the inside. No bears, no deer, no varmints of any kind. All in all this is one nice campground, with beautiful views and a great value for the buck, especially if you get the "special pricing" rate. It is in a great location, close to both Durango and Silverton. If we decide to go visit that area again, and I feel certain we will because we ride our motorcycles for the adventure, then this is one campground that will definitely get our vote as our place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    21
    4
    7
    7
See reviews for
35
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hemet, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We got special "end of the season" pricing but still received of of the best campsites in the park. Right on the Animas River, concrete patios, fire rings, full hook ups, TV, WiFi and a really friendly staff. Would definity stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Pricey but quite. Nice staff. Had to kill two spiders(my husband did) and clear spider web from wall near door. Yuk. Staff gave me spider spray, didn't see any more. All in all it is good and safe place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoxie
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were fortunate enough to get a sight on the river, by booking months in advance. If you can plan ahead the riverfront are the premo sights.The spaces on the river are nice and long so you can enjoy your fire while looking at the beautiful river with plenty of room. We even had a couple deer come down and drink while we were sitting out one night. We stayed six nights here and enjoyed it very much! The staff was excellent and the grounds were keep very nice with lovely landscaping. The laundry was clean, we don't use the shower rooms so can't say about them. We loved the ice cream shop but was disappointed that it was open only Friday and Saturdays. The pool was very clean. It was closed for five days while we were there with problems beyond their control, they were working hard to get it up and going so not discounting them for that.(things do break) They have a great gift shop with great prices. It is 12 miles away from Durango and kinda off by its self which for us is a great plus! The spaces are a bit close together but most are in this area from what we saw. We would return to Riverside if in the area again, even if we couldn't get a riverfront sight. We travel in a fifth wheel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights. We arrived on a Saturday and were sad to see that the ice cream shop was only open Fri and Sat. We would have gone almost every night it was so good with great prices. The park it self is beautiful. The spaces are close together however ours was at the end so we had a bit more space. At the beginning lots of people cut through out spot to get to the bathroom. We figured out how to park our car and place things around our site to stop this. The Sunday morning breakfast was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They even let our kids pick out the movie one night. There were two nights that two different groups of people were very loud after quiet time, staff didn't seem to enforce this. Otherwise, this place was great!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Next month will be our third return trip to DRR. It's convenient to just about every attraction and is very well kept and extra clean. We tented on our previous trips but now we have a travel trailer and are looking forward to our stay...which will be for almost 3 weeks. Everyone is extremely friendly and we highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Our tent spot was located higher up in the tree area (#91)with electric and water. The view made it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Durango Riverside Resort & RV (6/29/12 to 6/6/12); we booked here before doing much research. Once the trip got closer we started to read the reviews and got pretty nervous about our stay. Had a great trip, the park was very clean (showers were nice) & quite, movies every night, a heated pool, game room and good view of the Animas River, surprisingly the store/amenities on-site were not over-priced, the washing machine was $1.75 per load and the dryers were 25 cents for 6 minutes. One thing my son especially enjoyed the on-site ice cream shop, $2 ($3 with tip!) for a waffle cone w/ a good selection of flavors!

Contrary to the other reviews, the park staff was surprisingly very friendly; we had no issues with rude staff. The spots were a bit small though, you don’t have much room between spots (Spots 27/28) or for your toys/toads. We did not have a river view spot, and I’m glad we did not because it is a drop off and with two young children I would be worried about a slip and a fall. We were able to gain access to the river by the cabins so the kids could play down by the water. Other reviews they complained about the gravel being very loose and children not being able to ride their bikes, there were plenty of kids and adults riding bicycles. I did not bring my son’s bike because of that review and I regretted it.

Aside from the price being a tad on the expensive side, the spots being a little small this place was great. I would definitely stay here again if I wanted a relaxing vacation away, next time I will probably stay a little closer to town since this is about 20-25 minutes from Durango. This park should really be called Hermosa Riverside Resort & RV; the name is a bit misleading.

As for cell phone coverage, we had Verizon, AT&T and Sprint cell phones and they all worked fine, Verizon worked best with 3G coverage, AT&T & Sprint worked but were kind slow. Their WI-FI (Riverside Central) was come and go as most parks are, decent speeds one minute and crawling the next. For checking email and surfing the internet for a bit its fine, if you need it for work or school I would recommend you find an alternate internet source such was Wi-Fi in town or air card access.

This park as well as the city of Durango is VERY dog friendly, so if you travel with pets do not hesitate to bring them to this park, or to the city, Durango was probably the most dog-friend town I’ve ever visited.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Durango Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Riverside Resort

Address: 13391 County Road 250, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Durango
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaded by towering pines, this San Juan Mountains campground nestles against the Animas River 12 miles north of Durango. Many of the campsites and cabins lie just steps from the broad, rock-bottom river popular with anglers and kayakers. For breathtaking alpine scenery, take a day trip on the steam-powered Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad or drive the 232-mile San Juan Skyway Scenic Byway. This campground features a large pool, game room, basketball court, pet area and lots of fun for kids. At sunset, grab a sundae at the ice cream parlor or a cup of coffee at the espresso shop, then head for the outdoor movie theater. The café serves breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Durango Riverside Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Riverside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.