We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spanish Trails Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Spanish Trails Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spanish Trails Inn and Suites
3141 Main Ave., Durango, CO   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 30 hotels in Durango
Grand Junction, CO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Spanish Trails on the way to Santa Fe, NM on July 17th. After reading some of the reviews one would think you would contract hepatitis upon entering your room, so we were pleasantly surprised when we found a clean, comfortable, and large room that was not like what the negative reviews had suggested we would find. The room shows its age, but it was not dirty or sketchy. The desk clerk in both the evening and morning were also very pleasant and helpful. The only complaints are that our room was above the lobby and faced the street, which on a Friday night was rather busy and noisy, there was no soap or shampoo provided, and the room took a long time to cool down because of the small window unit air conditioner located on the opposite side of the room by the bathroom. For the price ($65) in Durango in the peak of summer season, I would certainly stay there again and recommend it to anyone looking for decent budget accommodations instead of a ridiculously priced "name brand" hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    12
    7
    13
See reviews for
6
19
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

I had a great experience at the Spanish Trails. I was able to book a room at a great rate during the peak of summer. It was clean, quiet, and in a great location. Yes, the hotel is older, but very clean.

The staff was very helpful and gave me great tips as far as fun things to do while I in town.

I love to support locally owned businesses like the Spanish Trails, which gave me great quality for a minimal expense.

Hope you enjoy!

  • Liked — I loved the location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geopak
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

It really was July of 2002. Perhaps the management has changed.
I was traveling with a group of 3 motorcycles. We had no complaints.
The room was clean and fine. I was allowed to park the motorcycle in the carport. I had agreed to $60 a night for 3 nights. Reserved the room with a Discover Card. On arriving I noticed they were advertising a $50 a night rate. I inquired, they lowered the rate to $50 without a squeek.
The help was friendly and helpful.
The clothes washers and driers worked fine.
Walk to the curb and take the bus to town. How convient.

Sorry, some folks have had a bad experience lately.
I would have planned to use the motel again, now I am not so sure.

Stayed July 2004
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2007

Wow! Where do I begin after the experiences of the other two reviewers. I must be crazy, as I stayed two nights at this motel in September 2006! The price was right, $39 for a king-sized bed, but all Durango motels fluctuate wildly from week to week depending on what activity is going on in town at the time of your visit. Check the schedule for events before visiting Durango.
I found my room to be reasonably clean, including the sheets. Ditto the bathroom. This was once one of Durango's best motels (I know, I stayed here with my family in the 60's and 70's!) It draws customers because of it's relatively low prices compared to the newer variety. I agree the desk people were of a "take it or leave it" attitude, but I only went in twice, to get the room, and leaving my key. Some rooms are newer than others also, so maybe the other two had samples of the oldest section, although that doesn't excuse filth certainly. My two day impression of my room was perhaps a C- grade. Microwave, refrigerator included. Grocery right across the street, and the little city tram/bus stops right in front to ride to downtown to avoid the parking insanity. (The only comparable place I've experienced was downtown Santa Fe!) I'd planned to stay here again this summer, but now I don't know. Caveat emptor! Check your room out first before paying for it! Another of life's roll of the dice! LOL! Also, I think the policy of "if you used it" applies across the board in motels. I once used the toilet, before discovering my bolted on TV didn't work properly. I asked for another room, but since they would (they claimed) now have to have the maid return to clean the toilet, I'd still have to pay for the first room! I kept the room and the quasi-operating TV. I could have lied about using anything, but unfortunately, I'm an honest individual...and also didn't think that fast! :-)

  • Liked — Good location, out of the downtown area's traffic mess
  • Disliked — It's starting to show its age.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san clemente ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2006

I was passing through town and need a place to stay. this place is a real [--]. I ended up using the nasty shower to get questionably clean, and then slept in the back of my nice clean van. If you like clean happy ammenities, avoid this place at all costs. You could probably catch a disease sleeping in this place.

  • Liked — near freeway
  • Disliked — the filth
  • Tips/Secrets — stay away at all costs
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spanish Trails Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Trails Inn and Suites

Address: 3141 Main Ave., Durango, CO
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Spanish Trails Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Trails Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spanish Trails Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.