We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of town, but very cheap, clean and friendly.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spanish Trails Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Spanish Trails Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Spanish Trails Inn and Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spanish Trails Inn and Suites
3141 Main Ave., Durango, CO   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 30 hotels in Durango
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Out of town, but very cheap, clean and friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Really good little motel, very cheap ($40 queen, in peak season) friendly, clean and comfortable. A/c a little noisy, but did the trick. Considering its out of town, felt safe too. Supermarket across the street makes up for lack of facilities inside the rooms. Only major drawback for this place is the location - certainly not town centre, a good hours walk into downtown Durango - however, its on the main drag, which is served by regular FREE trolleys, that take you into and out of town all day. We had no problems using this, even late at night. Overall, great stay, great bargain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    10
    7
    13
See reviews for
6
17
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our room was quiet, clean and comfortable. The room had a fridge and microwave. It was roomy and had a good bed (king). We were there on July 4, and I think it was a relatively good value. Front desk was couteous and friendly. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We were very worried about our room before we got there! Had booked the room & then heard not so good review! Totally wrong! Very comfortable king bed, room was clean & roomy! The only thing missing was a coffee maker, but there was a Starbuck's across street. We will definitely stay at this motel again! Staff was very accomodating & friendly! Thank you for that!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee, Arizona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I would give a 2.5. The carpet, a very old one, held a less than pleasant odor. Beds were okay, a little too soft. Pleasant staff, polite accommodating young man. Not a great crowd staying there. Had a fridge and microwave. AC did work ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Don't let the outside of this motel fool you! Room appeared clean and staff were nice but that is about it for favorable comments. For $69 I wasn't expecting palace but... No clock, no hair dryer, exposed carpet tack (which I stepped on), no hooks or bar for wet towels, terrible wifi signal, no coffee in room... I could go on. At least find somewhere cheaper if what I've said doesn't bother you.

Room Tip: Look around at a number of travel sites before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

After reading several unfavorable reviews on this property, I must admit we were somewhat skeptical of renting a room there. Fears were totally unfounded. Room was clean, beds were comfortable, air conditioning, shower and refrigerator worked well...no complaints whatsoever. There are few things in this world that are "perfect". We have come to the conclusion that there are a lot of "glass half empty" people out there with too much time on their hands. Thanks for the good nights rest!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I came through town from Phoenix last week. Many other hotels were full or much too expensive. The Spanish Trails was wonderful and all you could expect for the reasonable price. The staff were very friendly. The trolly station was right outside the hotel, which went downtown and up to the college. The entire experience was pleasant and I will most definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spanish Trails Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Trails Inn and Suites

Address: 3141 Main Ave., Durango, CO
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Spanish Trails Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Trails Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spanish Trails Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.