We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired Place but Serviceable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spanish Trails Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Spanish Trails Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spanish Trails Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3141 Main Ave., Durango, CO   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 30 hotels in Durango
Bisbee, Arizona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Tired Place but Serviceable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I would give a 2.5. The carpet, a very old one, held a less than pleasant odor. Beds were okay, a little too soft. Pleasant staff, polite accommodating young man. Not a great crowd staying there. Had a fridge and microwave. AC did work ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    13
    8
    13
See reviews for
6
20
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Don't let the outside of this motel fool you! Room appeared clean and staff were nice but that is about it for favorable comments. For $69 I wasn't expecting palace but... No clock, no hair dryer, exposed carpet tack (which I stepped on), no hooks or bar for wet towels, terrible wifi signal, no coffee in room... I could go on. At least find somewhere cheaper if what I've said doesn't bother you.

Room Tip: Look around at a number of travel sites before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

After reading several unfavorable reviews on this property, I must admit we were somewhat skeptical of renting a room there. Fears were totally unfounded. Room was clean, beds were comfortable, air conditioning, shower and refrigerator worked well...no complaints whatsoever. There are few things in this world that are "perfect". We have come to the conclusion that there are a lot of "glass half empty" people out there with too much time on their hands. Thanks for the good nights rest!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I came through town from Phoenix last week. Many other hotels were full or much too expensive. The Spanish Trails was wonderful and all you could expect for the reasonable price. The staff were very friendly. The trolly station was right outside the hotel, which went downtown and up to the college. The entire experience was pleasant and I will most definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My wife and daughter were traveling through the area and had to take what was available. This place was cheap and you get what you pay for.

It had a toilet (as opposed to an outhouse, if any of you remember what that was), hot and cold water, a TV, and lights.

Not much more can be said.

Room Tip: Only if you have to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Theory desk clerk was helpful. First room was too noisy and too busy with long term tena.nts. I was moved to a nicer much quieter room. The front window was nearly falling out. No security whatsoever here was scary. Hot water was very slow. Heat was not good. I would not recommend this motel to anyone. It is large has many rooms some with long term tenants. This motel needs a complete makeover remodel improvements. It is old dirty not well maintained. Nice location across from city market. This place is very busy people all around dogs around. Noisy from highway 550 all day.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you are on a budget, or sometimes just don't care where you sleep: this is your choice. We were on our way through and ended up in Durango. Checked various hotels on the Main Ave. and decided to go for this one.

The 6 other hotels we asked were all $120/150 for a double queen, and with $59 this room was a bargain.

And yes, the stairs are rusty, the rooms are outdated and the hotel needs a make-over. But it is not as bad as some reviews say.

City Market and lots of shops/restaurants are within walking distance. WiFi worked OK. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spanish Trails Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Trails Inn and Suites

Address: 3141 Main Ave., Durango, CO
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Spanish Trails Inn and Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Spanish Trails Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Trails Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spanish Trails Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.