We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continue to be pleased” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Snapper

The Red Snapper
144 E 9th St, Durango, CO 81301-5430
970-259-3417
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 166 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Continue to be pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Red Snapper continues to be my favorite restaurant in town. We had a great server who was very friendly and knowledgeable. We were a party of 5, ordering everything from Crab Legs to Salmon, and we were all very happy with our food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    37
    22
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reeds Spring
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Found The Red Snapper while walking around downtown Durango. Wife had Lobster tail dinner. I had Halibut special with sliced potatoes with a Lobster meat barranaise sauce. Both meals came with home made mixed vegetables that were amazing. All food excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“THE RED SNAPPER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

One of the best restaurants in Durango. Great salad bar. Had scallops, they were also great. Our waitperson, Sarah, could not of been better. Even recommend another restaurant that was on our way out of Durango. There wine list was full of great wines.
A must stop in Durango.

BUD CARTER

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, NV
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Halibut to "die" for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We (6 of us) eat at the Red Snapper 1 to 2 times per year on our sightseeing travels... and they have always delighted us with their delicious food selections.

Last Saturday I had their Halibut... wish I could have eaten the whole thing... it was by far the best I'd ever eaten!

The service was excellent... the restaurant is clean and the food was (again) delicious with generous portions.

Definitely recommended to anyone traveling through this area looking for great seafood or steaks. I add the steak recommendation since one of our friends could not quit raving about the Rib-Eye.... he absolutely loved it.

And the garlic mashed potatoes... perfectly done... not too garlicky... just right.

Also, great wine list... we had a new wine called Jacobs Creek... inexpensive and tasty!

They also take reservations... enjoy your tasting adventure!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“excellant seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is not a chain restaurant. Its the real deal culinary experience. The salad bar is awesome. The seafood dishes are exciting and unusual. I think you will be impressed. We usually make it our anniversary place for dinner every year.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Snapper also viewed

 

Been to The Red Snapper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Snapper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.