We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE RED SNAPPER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Snapper

The Red Snapper
144 E 9th St, Durango, CO 81301-5430
970-259-3417
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 150 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
TEXAS
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“THE RED SNAPPER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

One of the best restaurants in Durango. Great salad bar. Had scallops, they were also great. Our waitperson, Sarah, could not of been better. Even recommend another restaurant that was on our way out of Durango. There wine list was full of great wines.
A must stop in Durango.

BUD CARTER

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    42
    22
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, NV
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Halibut to "die" for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We (6 of us) eat at the Red Snapper 1 to 2 times per year on our sightseeing travels... and they have always delighted us with their delicious food selections.

Last Saturday I had their Halibut... wish I could have eaten the whole thing... it was by far the best I'd ever eaten!

The service was excellent... the restaurant is clean and the food was (again) delicious with generous portions.

Definitely recommended to anyone traveling through this area looking for great seafood or steaks. I add the steak recommendation since one of our friends could not quit raving about the Rib-Eye.... he absolutely loved it.

And the garlic mashed potatoes... perfectly done... not too garlicky... just right.

Also, great wine list... we had a new wine called Jacobs Creek... inexpensive and tasty!

They also take reservations... enjoy your tasting adventure!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“excellant seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is not a chain restaurant. Its the real deal culinary experience. The salad bar is awesome. The seafood dishes are exciting and unusual. I think you will be impressed. We usually make it our anniversary place for dinner every year.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Worth the price of admission”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

You wonder about how good seafood can be in a relatively small town hundreds of miles from the ocean. Don't worry about it at the Red Snapper. I had the Cioppino ($22) and it was delicious. The tomato broth was thicker than most, but it certainly worked. We started with Calamari ($9) which was nicely cooked and lightly breaded. My son had the Lobster Pot Pie ($20) which contained huge chunks of lobster and a delicious creamy sauce baked in a puff pastry.
Price-wise it's a little higher than I'd expect, but when you consider where you are it's not bad.
Our server Paul was attentive without being intrusive.
Overall a very good meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Colorado Ruby Red Trout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My cousin and I ordered the special of the day which was a Red Ruby trout with a special glaze - it was so good we came back two days later and had an equally fabulous dinner. The owner is a fabulous host. Plus they have half price appetizers during Happy Hour!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Snapper also viewed

 

Been to The Red Snapper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Snapper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.