We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellant seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Snapper

The Red Snapper
144 E 9th St, Durango, CO 81301-5430
970-259-3417
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 167 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“excellant seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is not a chain restaurant. Its the real deal culinary experience. The salad bar is awesome. The seafood dishes are exciting and unusual. I think you will be impressed. We usually make it our anniversary place for dinner every year.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    37
    22
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Worth the price of admission”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

You wonder about how good seafood can be in a relatively small town hundreds of miles from the ocean. Don't worry about it at the Red Snapper. I had the Cioppino ($22) and it was delicious. The tomato broth was thicker than most, but it certainly worked. We started with Calamari ($9) which was nicely cooked and lightly breaded. My son had the Lobster Pot Pie ($20) which contained huge chunks of lobster and a delicious creamy sauce baked in a puff pastry.
Price-wise it's a little higher than I'd expect, but when you consider where you are it's not bad.
Our server Paul was attentive without being intrusive.
Overall a very good meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Colorado Ruby Red Trout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My cousin and I ordered the special of the day which was a Red Ruby trout with a special glaze - it was so good we came back two days later and had an equally fabulous dinner. The owner is a fabulous host. Plus they have half price appetizers during Happy Hour!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Awesome Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I went with a girlfriend for lunch last week. It was my first lunch experience although I've been many times for dinner. We were very pleased! Shannon was our server and she's a professional if there ever was one. We had the wine special which was a French Chardonnay. I'm not typically a white-wine kind of gal, but it was really nice. We opted for the salad bar which is the best one around and a couple of cups of amazing Lobster Bisque. We were so very happy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Wrong from the start”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

First and last visit. Reservation made previous day. Upon arrival, no record of same. Unfortunately there were many many tables available. Pleasant ambience. Wood, acquarium, butcher block booth table. We ordered two daily specials. My partner ordered Ahi with vegetables. We had to send it back. It was chewy with a definite spoiled flavor. They replaced with Trout special. It was judged acceptable. My entree was pan seared Halibut over lobster infused mashed potatoes. Halibut was good. Potatoes were very salty. Our server was pleasant and competent with limited experience. The 80% empty restaurant during peak season is testament to a very mediocre restaurant. You can do much better in Durango.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Snapper also viewed

 

Been to The Red Snapper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Snapper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.