We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Salad Bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Snapper

The Red Snapper
144 E 9th St, Durango, CO 81301-5430
970-259-3417
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 162 Restaurants in Durango
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Salad Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hands down the best salad bar in Durango! Try the bleu cheese! Everything is prepared with a masterful hand, perfectly cooked and seasoned.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    35
    22
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Durango classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have been going to the Red Snapper for 20+ years and it almost always is a good experience. Things have changed over time, but for the most part, they have been good changes. We went to dinner as a large group on Xmas eve and the staff was very accommodating as we were able to get a table very quickly. The service was very good (as usual) and our very diverse group was able to find something for every palate. The crab cakes were excellent; the blackened trout was perfect; the chioppino was very good; and the ahi tuna was very nice. On the tuna, the sesame seeds were a little heavy and were borderline intrusive for the fish – but the overall quality of the fish was excellent. For people who have been before, the salad bar has been a big draw and has either been ~$7 without an entrée or free with an entrée. Now it is $7-8 with an entrée. It is a nice salad bar with plenty of good selections, but I find it rather difficult to justify that price for a self-service salad bar that at the end of the day only contains a normal variety of vegetables. Obviously, it takes a $24 fish and makes the dinner rather pricey. Another item from the past is the monstrous desserts. A few years ago, the size (not the quality) decreased dramatically. The death-by-chocolate is now back to its former gut-busting glory and is really a 2-4 person item. Overall, the physical composition of the restaurant is excellent (open kitchen, lots of large tropical fish tanks), the bar is good, and there are plenty of local beers on tap. We have been coming here for many years and look forward to returning again in the future.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We went here for an anniversary dinner. The wait staff was slow and forgot several things we had ordered. Our drinks (including water) were refilled at the end of dinner. The food here is not bad, but was a bit over-cooked, The salad bar is nice, but not worth the cost of the dinner.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful service and best dining evening we had in Durango.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

What a great surprise. First night in Durango and our fourth visit to this great town. Tired from drive wanted good food and based on hotel concierge advice that I wanted steak but husband wanted seafood we ended up at The Red Snapper. My Prime Rib was cooked perfectly and my husband's Rocky Mountain Rainbow Trout dish were so yummy. They buy meat and vegetables locally to promote and support their area. Outside of Prime Rib seasoned with perfect sear. Medley of local in season vegetables with fresh herbs served as side delicious. Trout skin crunchy fish meat moist with toasted almond buttery sauce yummo! Service warm and inviting. Will definitely be trying this place again on next visit to Durango. Don't miss the desserts and the "Death by Chocolate".

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We are trying to go to every restaurant in Durango and this was our first time here. Over all it was an enjoyable dinner. Our waiter was "Buzz" and he did a great job, very friendly and always there when you needed him. The food was good, just not great. We expect to pay high prices because we live here we know how expensive everything is, but we have had better food for the same price at other local restaurants. My husband had the prime rib and crab legs, the food seemed a little cooler then it should be when served and the crab was just fair. My meal was tasty, the scallop special for the night. I really don't have a lot of complaints but with other restaurants with better food and ambiance we probably won't go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Snapper also viewed

 

Been to The Red Snapper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Snapper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.