We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right next to the train station!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Durango Lodge
Save Saved
You added Durango Lodge to your Saves list
150 E 5th, Durango, CO   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Durango
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Right next to the train station!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had a nice two nights stay at the Durango Lodge. Our room was spacious, clean, with comfortable beds. The front desk staff was very friendly and welcoming.
The hotel is located in downtown Durango, only one block away from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gouge Railroad Station. Breakfast is included, and consists of bagels and cream cheese, pastries, fruit, oatmeal, cereal, orange juice and coffee. The breakfast area is in the lobby, which is very small, but that only helped us get acquainted with other travelers and exchange travel tips around the area. There is a swimming pool and hot Jacuzzi available to guests but we did not use it. I recommend this hotel if visiting Durango, CO. Price is comparable with other hotels in the area, but the location is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    67
    27
    6
    7
See reviews for
37
63
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have stayed here several times over the last thirty years. I have found it in various states of repair.

This year it was darn near perfect. The room could be out of a hilton. New everything. It was very hot here. The AC worked great. The bed was outstanding. I am very please.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawndale, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel is 3 star hotel. But, do to it's location of being downtown and next to the Train Station it earns a 4 star from me. The rooms were nice. I had a balcony overlooking toward the train station. You can walk to all the restaurants and shops. Anything you need is within distance. Park the car and enjoy. The people who run this hotel are nice. There is a small pool in case you want to cool down. The continental breakfast is okay(cereal, toast, pastries and some fruit).
But, the piece-de-resistance was that the morning of my travel on the Durango and Silverton, I only had to walk 2 blocks. I could hear the engine huffing and smoke biloing as I was getting ready for my trek, at the hotel. I would definitely stay here again. Price is high but you are paying for quality and location. There!

Room Tip: Book early due to this is a small hotel. Try to get one of the rooms with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Perfect downtown location, 2 minute walk to the train station. The hotel is clean and comfortable and has a reasonable breakfast, especially if you like lots of wheat. The room decor is somewhat dated and the rooms are small and I doubt the bedspreads are washed after each occupancy but it is a reasonably priced option with pleasant staff.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The room was really nice...spotless and had a comfy bed and in room coffee pot and paper cups...good shampoo and soaps...and big fluffy towels ...it's also very close to all the action so you don't have to worry about driving. Downside...Drunks woke us up at least 4 times ...first 3 were just noisy ...last one set off the fire alarms and we ended up in the parking lot at 5 am...not fun...had not been for the noise I would have ranked this 5 stars...

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moore tx
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Clean, nice professional people. Breakfast was good. Location was great and price was great. Felt very safe, door locks and keys were up to date. Management was concerned with saving water and being green. Would definitely choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

After checking out the prices at the historic hotel downtown ($150+), we stopped here and paid half that for a room. The room they gave us was really nice, recently remodeled and very comfy! We walked downtown for dinner and a little wandering. Breakfast was included, and I was very happy to have some yogurt included this time instead of the usual bagels, cereal and waffles. The only drawback was the thin walls, we were awakened around midnight by the very amorous couple next door! Definitely worth checking out, but you might want to have earplugs along. ; )

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Durango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Lodge

Address: 150 E 5th, Durango, CO
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Durango Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.