We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right next to the train station!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Durango Lodge to your Saves list
Durango Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 E 5th, Durango, CO   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Durango
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Right next to the train station!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had a nice two nights stay at the Durango Lodge. Our room was spacious, clean, with comfortable beds. The front desk staff was very friendly and welcoming.
The hotel is located in downtown Durango, only one block away from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gouge Railroad Station. Breakfast is included, and consists of bagels and cream cheese, pastries, fruit, oatmeal, cereal, orange juice and coffee. The breakfast area is in the lobby, which is very small, but that only helped us get acquainted with other travelers and exchange travel tips around the area. There is a swimming pool and hot Jacuzzi available to guests but we did not use it. I recommend this hotel if visiting Durango, CO. Price is comparable with other hotels in the area, but the location is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    82
    34
    6
    8
See reviews for
43
82
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
131 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have stayed here several times over the last thirty years. I have found it in various states of repair.

This year it was darn near perfect. The room could be out of a hilton. New everything. It was very hot here. The AC worked great. The bed was outstanding. I am very please.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawndale, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel is 3 star hotel. But, do to it's location of being downtown and next to the Train Station it earns a 4 star from me. The rooms were nice. I had a balcony overlooking toward the train station. You can walk to all the restaurants and shops. Anything you need is within distance. Park the car and enjoy. The people who run this hotel are nice. There is a small pool in case you want to cool down. The continental breakfast is okay(cereal, toast, pastries and some fruit).
But, the piece-de-resistance was that the morning of my travel on the Durango and Silverton, I only had to walk 2 blocks. I could hear the engine huffing and smoke biloing as I was getting ready for my trek, at the hotel. I would definitely stay here again. Price is high but you are paying for quality and location. There!

Room Tip: Book early due to this is a small hotel. Try to get one of the rooms with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Perfect downtown location, 2 minute walk to the train station. The hotel is clean and comfortable and has a reasonable breakfast, especially if you like lots of wheat. The room decor is somewhat dated and the rooms are small and I doubt the bedspreads are washed after each occupancy but it is a reasonably priced option with pleasant staff.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The room was really nice...spotless and had a comfy bed and in room coffee pot and paper cups...good shampoo and soaps...and big fluffy towels ...it's also very close to all the action so you don't have to worry about driving. Downside...Drunks woke us up at least 4 times ...first 3 were just noisy ...last one set off the fire alarms and we ended up in the parking lot at 5 am...not fun...had not been for the noise I would have ranked this 5 stars...

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moore tx
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Clean, nice professional people. Breakfast was good. Location was great and price was great. Felt very safe, door locks and keys were up to date. Management was concerned with saving water and being green. Would definitely choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

After checking out the prices at the historic hotel downtown ($150+), we stopped here and paid half that for a room. The room they gave us was really nice, recently remodeled and very comfy! We walked downtown for dinner and a little wandering. Breakfast was included, and I was very happy to have some yogurt included this time instead of the usual bagels, cereal and waffles. The only drawback was the thin walls, we were awakened around midnight by the very amorous couple next door! Definitely worth checking out, but you might want to have earplugs along. ; )

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#5 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Lodge

Address: 150 E 5th, Durango, CO
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Durango Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small motel in downtown Durango. Clean, comfortable, reasonably priced! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Durango Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.