We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! Location! Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Durango Lodge to your Saves list
Durango Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 E 5th, Durango, CO   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Lawndale, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Location! Location! Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel is 3 star hotel. But, do to it's location of being downtown and next to the Train Station it earns a 4 star from me. The rooms were nice. I had a balcony overlooking toward the train station. You can walk to all the restaurants and shops. Anything you need is within distance. Park the car and enjoy. The people who run this hotel are nice. There is a small pool in case you want to cool down. The continental breakfast is okay(cereal, toast, pastries and some fruit).
But, the piece-de-resistance was that the morning of my travel on the Durango and Silverton, I only had to walk 2 blocks. I could hear the engine huffing and smoke biloing as I was getting ready for my trek, at the hotel. I would definitely stay here again. Price is high but you are paying for quality and location. There!

Room Tip: Book early due to this is a small hotel. Try to get one of the rooms with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    70
    31
    6
    8
See reviews for
38
70
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Perfect downtown location, 2 minute walk to the train station. The hotel is clean and comfortable and has a reasonable breakfast, especially if you like lots of wheat. The room decor is somewhat dated and the rooms are small and I doubt the bedspreads are washed after each occupancy but it is a reasonably priced option with pleasant staff.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The room was really nice...spotless and had a comfy bed and in room coffee pot and paper cups...good shampoo and soaps...and big fluffy towels ...it's also very close to all the action so you don't have to worry about driving. Downside...Drunks woke us up at least 4 times ...first 3 were just noisy ...last one set off the fire alarms and we ended up in the parking lot at 5 am...not fun...had not been for the noise I would have ranked this 5 stars...

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moore tx
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Clean, nice professional people. Breakfast was good. Location was great and price was great. Felt very safe, door locks and keys were up to date. Management was concerned with saving water and being green. Would definitely choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

After checking out the prices at the historic hotel downtown ($150+), we stopped here and paid half that for a room. The room they gave us was really nice, recently remodeled and very comfy! We walked downtown for dinner and a little wandering. Breakfast was included, and I was very happy to have some yogurt included this time instead of the usual bagels, cereal and waffles. The only drawback was the thin walls, we were awakened around midnight by the very amorous couple next door! Definitely worth checking out, but you might want to have earplugs along. ; )

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I usually don't like staying in the heart of town, but this time we needed to. The hotel is extremely close to everything downtown. The parking is very tight. There are two rows running down the train side of the hotel and there are some places front. We got the last space and luckily it was still after a late night run to grocery store. We visiting after the holidays, so wasn't crowded. I only mention this because someone parked on the side street and had an unpleasant surprise the next morning (huge dent). The backside or long hall of the hotel is slightly lower than the main building. A little funky, but it works. The carpet was extremely worn but fairly clean (no odors). The walls are tad thin, we woke in the morning to some yelling and arguing. The room was clean and the mattresses were great. One huge plus, we got a balcony. The price was excellent. I will stay again because of the balcony, mattress and price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We spent one night at the Durango Lodge in December 2013. The motel is in an excellent location for exploring downtown Durango on foot. The staff was polite and extremely accommodating, especially Andrea and Fran at the front desk. This will be our top pick should we ever return to Durango for another visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Durango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Lodge

Address: 150 E 5th, Durango, CO
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Durango Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small motel in downtown Durango. Clean, comfortable, reasonably priced! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Durango Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.