We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Durango Lodge
150 E 5th, Durango, CO   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 hotels in Durango
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stayed at the Durango Lodge for 2 nights in mid September. Room was very clean and comfortable. Door side parking. Parking is limited. Within walking distance of train and downtown shops and restaurants. Breakfast was less than average hotel continental breakfast.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    63
    24
    5
    7
See reviews for
34
59
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

After trying two other hotels nearby, we were pleased to get a room at a reasonable rate so close to the town centre. Parking seems to be an issue in Durango so we were also relieved to get a space in the motel. Glad we'd arrived about 2pm and got a space.

We got room above the office, I've since read reviews about this room being smelly, but we really didn't notice this when we stayed (19-22 Sep). I was more interested in getting a balcony out onto the street so I could people-watch. It was great!

Stayed two nights and the only minor problem I could think of was the sounds of other guests getting their breakfast in the office/foyer each morning.

Had no problem with staff attitude, we stopped by reception on our way to dinner and the receptionist complimented me on my outfit, so I won't complain about that....

All in all, we had a great experience and it was ideal for walking into town. We didn't use the car for two days and there's a City Market foodstore in walking distance so that was ideal for us to stock up on picnic supplies and water.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony onto the street, no problems with street noise but we were there in Septem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

An amazing place found by chance. Near to the end of a three week trip we stayed for 3 nights. We found the staff polite, friendly and helpful. Great location - not far from train station and downtown Durango so could park car and walk everywhere. Rooms had view of the car park but had reasonable rates. Did not have time to use pool. Breakfast adequate. Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

stayed here during our summer road trip. Small quaint motel with family run feel. Reasonable rates for the quality. Very clean and everything worked. Small parking lot but still found a spot during busy season. Wish we could have stayed longer. Loved it.

Room Tip: Try to get room with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Half way through a 3 week road trip we stopped off in Durango for a few days off. I’m so glad we chose to stay here. It’s nothing too fancy, but I also think their website undersells it a bit. The rooms might be of average size (with views of the car park), but they are immaculately kept and the complimentary toiletries were actually nice enough that you wanted to use them. It's a small thing, but an effort that many places wouldn't bother with. The hot tub was hot and the pool was beautiful and refreshingly cool for a change. It’s located near the train station so you’re immersed in the sound of the steam train a couple of times a day which gives it a bit of added ambiance. Hassle free and relaxing. And it’s in Durango. You cant go wrong.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Durango Lodge is amazing! After a not so good stay in another town, we arrived at the Durango Lodge to check in. Our reservation was ready; the person at the desk was so nice and friendly...the room was wonderful!
We had a king room, balcony over looking the street and some of downtown, I could have stayed there forever!!
We could tell right away it was worth every penny!!
Make sure if you destination is Durango, Colorado; the Durango Lodge is on your list...make your reservations the rooms go quickly!! You can sit on the balcony and listen to the train whistle, then walk down a few blocks at eat at Francisco's.....We are going back!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms with the balconies.....amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Smelly, dirty, and no really good parking. If its for just a night, well, OK, but if you plan on staying, look further. We were advised it was a good place...not good advice. Maybe we were expecting something better but this is not our idea of great! The only good thing is it is near the narrow gauge train and close to town.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Durango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Lodge

Address: 150 E 5th, Durango, CO
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 hotels in Durango
Also Known As:
Durango Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Durango Lodge to your Saves list
;