We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay in Durango, Colorado” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Durango Lodge
Save
You added Durango Lodge to your Saves list
150 E 5th, Durango, CO   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Silver City, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our stay in Durango, Colorado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Durango Lodge is amazing! After a not so good stay in another town, we arrived at the Durango Lodge to check in. Our reservation was ready; the person at the desk was so nice and friendly...the room was wonderful!
We had a king room, balcony over looking the street and some of downtown, I could have stayed there forever!!
We could tell right away it was worth every penny!!
Make sure if you destination is Durango, Colorado; the Durango Lodge is on your list...make your reservations the rooms go quickly!! You can sit on the balcony and listen to the train whistle, then walk down a few blocks at eat at Francisco's.....We are going back!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms with the balconies.....amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    68
    28
    6
    7
See reviews for
37
66
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atascadero, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Smelly, dirty, and no really good parking. If its for just a night, well, OK, but if you plan on staying, look further. We were advised it was a good place...not good advice. Maybe we were expecting something better but this is not our idea of great! The only good thing is it is near the narrow gauge train and close to town.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Located right smack downtown, the Durango Lodge, although dated and showing it's age, is the spot to stay. Park your car and never touch it again while you are checked in. Our first room really had a foul odor and the desk clerk suggested immediately moving us to another room which, although near the first room, was odor free and noticeably cooler. Good move there.
There is a pool and a hot tub on site although we didn't feel the urge to use it.
This property is overdue for a make over and hopefully they won't raise rates if that happens as it is still relatively affordable to stay here. Recommended.

Room Tip: Don't get the corner room above the office...it stinks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

A great central location for the lovely town of Durango. Its location does mean its not always quiet, the trains can be heard etc which was fine for me but some may not like that. Nice pool and I had no problem with Wi-Fi or TV. The breakfast range was limited.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the Durango Lodge for 4 nights. The location is super, since it is right in the middle of things, close to many good restaurants and a block from the Durango-Silverton Railroad! You can easily tour down town on foot from here. The rooms are not brand new, but they are clean and the management does a good job. There is a very nice small pool and hot tub, also. The rates were competitive as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The WiFi never worked, and the staff at the desk didn't care, and wasn't in a position to do anything about it. Apparently, that's handled by the owner, and the owner isn't anywhere to be found (Mumbai, maybe). The AC/heat pump roared like they all do. The speaker on the TV was tinny. That said, the staff was helpful in the things they could handle, the room was clean and the furniture was better than average. Excellent location, and priced well, considering it was Durango during the summer.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are usually quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

During our 2 night stay we could not get an extra room key because the key machine was broken. The room was adequate but the parking lot was small. A short walk to the train station. Room rates seem high but that's Durango.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Durango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Lodge

Address: 150 E 5th, Durango, CO
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Durango Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.