We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I hear the train a comin'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Durango Lodge to your Saves list
Durango Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 E 5th, Durango, CO   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Lenexa, Kansas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I hear the train a comin'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the Durango Lodge for 4 nights. The location is super, since it is right in the middle of things, close to many good restaurants and a block from the Durango-Silverton Railroad! You can easily tour down town on foot from here. The rooms are not brand new, but they are clean and the management does a good job. There is a very nice small pool and hot tub, also. The rates were competitive as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    74
    31
    6
    8
See reviews for
38
75
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The WiFi never worked, and the staff at the desk didn't care, and wasn't in a position to do anything about it. Apparently, that's handled by the owner, and the owner isn't anywhere to be found (Mumbai, maybe). The AC/heat pump roared like they all do. The speaker on the TV was tinny. That said, the staff was helpful in the things they could handle, the room was clean and the furniture was better than average. Excellent location, and priced well, considering it was Durango during the summer.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are usually quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

During our 2 night stay we could not get an extra room key because the key machine was broken. The room was adequate but the parking lot was small. A short walk to the train station. Room rates seem high but that's Durango.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here 5 nights in early August, 2013. Hotel is a bit dated, but clean and looked well-kept. Reasonably sized rooms. Bathrooms are a bit dated as well, but clean and fully functional. Air conditioning was a bit mysterious, but we eventually figured out the controls. The pool is relatively small, but we didn't see many people using it, so space shouldn't be an issue. Nice Jacuzzi too, which we needed after our mountain adventure. Parking lot is small, but the owners have made arrangements for secondary parking (just ask). Shouldn't be any need for an extended search for parking.

Two factors really make this place in my view. First, the staff were invariably polite, friendly, and helpful. We visited Durango as a base for a backpacking trip in the nearby San Juans. The Lodge stored our stuff while we were in the backcountry, and made accommodation for us when we reappeared early due to ugly weather in the mountains. Second, the Lodge is at the edge of downtown Durango. Easy walking access to the Steam Train, downtown restaurants and pubs, and pretty much everything you might want to do in Durango. That's why we never sampled the complimentary breakfast; too easy to wander down Main St. a few blocks to hit one of the coffee places. Also, a short shot to major roads if you want to venture out of Durango, to Mesa Verde say, or to some of the great nearby mountain biking trails.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Friendly people, very clean and great location to main street where all bars and restaurants are located. Also right next to Durango train station for senic train ride that is very popular . Breakfast good too

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great location for boarding the train, to see a movie or anything else you may want to do in town. The breakfast is a bit modest and the lobby is really too small to even do a breakfast. The rooms are very nice, the bathrooms are modern and very clean and neat. Finding a parking space may take a few trips around the block, but you'll get one. All in all, a very nice stay, worth the money.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This has to be the best budget choice when visiting Durango. It is a five minute walk from the railroad and the town itself and is perfect in that regard. We found the staff to be friendly and happy to help. The pool area is pretty small, but was a great place to get the late afternoon sun after a day exploring.
The room was clean and comfortable and we had no complaints. The breakfast area is small, but was well stocked with a choice of breakfast fare. We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Durango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Lodge

Address: 150 E 5th, Durango, CO
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Durango Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small motel in downtown Durango. Clean, comfortable, reasonably priced! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Durango Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.